The following databases contain rich resources related to Architecture and are available to UNCA through the WNCLN catalog or by going directly to "Search Databases."
ArchNet Digital Library - Islamic architecture resources.
archINFORM
A database of over 12000 built and unrealized projects by architects and planners, mainly of the 20th century. It originated as a record of interesting building projects compiled by students. Based in Germany.
archiV_die architektendatenbank - [In German] contains addresses, lists of projects and supplies biographical and project information and may be searched by architect and project type.
ART HISTORY RESOURCES ON THE WEB
Possibly the most extensive web resource for links to sites about Art and Art History on the Internet. Created by Christopher L. C. E. Witcombe, Sweetbriar College and available on the Internet since 1995. Go to the appropriate period and review Architecture links.
Bildarchiv der Kunst und Architektur (in German)
Canadian Centre for Architecture - over 150,000 records of historic architecture-related material (NOTE: text data only, no images yet)
Cities and Buildings Database - University of Washington "collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web."
Digital Archive of American Architecture
An image database from Boston College. Created by Professor Jeffrey Howe, who photographed the sites. Over 1400 images of American architecture.
Digital Imaging Project - from Bluffton College - large and growing archive of architecture and archaeological sites
EMPORIS - a commercial database of the world's buildings, particularly sky-scrapers. Emporis.com is one of the world's largest available platforms concerning building-related information. Includes buildings, companies and photos in more than 50,000 cities worldwide. As an open platform, Emporis.com allows users and companies from all over the world to participate in the completion of building information in their own cities. Don't expect to find small cities and don't expect the images to be free.
Great Buildings Collection,- an extensive site for photographic images and architectural drawings of buildings from around the world. Also includes 3D models, commentary, bibliographies, and web links to additional sites. A first stop for architecture searches.
Green Building - at the OpenDirectory Project
House Styles -An illustrated guide to North American residential architecture, with facts and photos for the most popular house styles from the 1600s to modern times.
Images of Medieval Art & Architecture - compiled by Alison Stones,University of Pittsburgh, includes well known sites. Chartres is particularly well-covered.
Skyscraper Page - site includes over 4,400 illustrations of tall buildings, as well as comparative data.
THAIS - A resources of images of Egyptian, Greek, Islamic and Romanesque architecture, indexed by location, subject, and period.
American Architecture And Urbanism / [By] Vincent Scully
Scully, Vincent Joseph, 1920- New York, Praeger [1969] 275 p. illus., maps, plans. 26 cm
Modern Architecture And Other Essays / Vincent Scully ; Selected And With Introductions By Neil Levine
Scully, Vincent Joseph, 1920- Princeton, NJ : Princeton University Press, c2003 399 p. : ill. ; 27 cm
Learning From Las Vegas / [By] Robert Venturi, Denise Scott Brown, And Steven Izenour
Venturi, Robert Cambridge, Mass., MIT Press [1972] xvi, 188 p. illus. 37 cm
Architecture and design in Europe and America, 1750-2000 / edited by Abigail Harrison-Moore and Doro
Malden, MA ; Oxford : Blackwell Pub., 2006 xix, 515 p. : ill. ; 26 cm
A vision of a living world / [Christopher Alexander]
Alexander, Christopher
Berkeley, Calif. : Center for Environmental Structure, c2005 x, 697 p. : ill. (some col.) ; 29 cm
Managing change : sustainable approaches to the conservation of the built environment : 4th Annual
US/ICOMOS International Symposium (4th : 2001 : Philadelphia, Pa.)
Los Angeles : Getty Conservation Institute, c2003 viii, 214 p. : ill. (some col.), maps (some col.) ; 30 cm
The anthropology of space and place : locating culture / edited by Setha M. Low and Denise Lawrence-
Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2003 ix, 422 p. ; 25 cm
Buildings that changed the world / Klaus Reichold, Bernhard Graf Reichold, Klaus München;
New York : Prestel, c1999 191 p. : ill. (chiefly col.) ; 31 cm
Architecture Archives
Search by architect, client, location, or collection name. Carnegie Mellon University.
PERSEUS ART AND ARCHAEOLOGY PROJECT - Tufts University site. Classical architecture resources.
Architecture
Architecture Virtual Library · http://www.clr.toronto.edu/VIRTUALLIB/arch.html: This is an excellent, searchable architecture virtual library. .
galinsky - a showcase for the world's most exciting modern buildings. Photographs, descriptions and visitor information for more than 200 buildings across Europe, derived from work by students in the Harvard Graduate School of Design. Site also includes information regarding travel to European cities with remarkable architectural examples detailed.
RUDI
An information resource for research, teaching and professional practice in the field of urban design in the Western cultural context. Materials are often multimedia.
WATERS OF ROME: hydraulic infrastructure/aqueducts/fountains/sewers - An amazing site that includes a cross-section of Rome and its many levels of development.
Waters of the City of Rome published refereed articles contributed by scholars and graduate students in our new occasional on-line journal "The Waters of Rome". ... Compliments the WATERS OF ROME
Art & Architecture Thesaurus / Toni Petersen, director. Use for terminology and definitions of genre.
Encyclopedia of World Art, New York: McGraw-Hill, 1959-87. 15 vols. [Ref R 703 E56]
Illustrated dictionary of architecture / Ernest Burden
American architecture : an illustrated encyclopedia / Cyril M. Harris
The Oxford companion to Christian art and architecture / Peter and Linda Murray
Encyclopedia of architecture : design, engineering & construction / Joseph A. Wilkes, editor-in-chief
World architecture index : a guide to illustrations / compiled by Edward H. Teague
Supervised research projects in urban planning (1949-1997) / edited by Marilyn Berger ; compiled by Moukdad, Haidar
Dictionary of building preservation / edited by Ward Bucher ; Christine Madrid, illustration editor
The book of buildings : a panorama of ancient, medieval, renaissance, and modern structures-
Reid, Richard, 1939-
Pictorial dictionary of ancient Athens [by] John Travlos. 1908-
Pictorial dictionary of ancient Rome Nash, Ernest
Learn how to use Artstor here: