Ramsey Library at UNC Asheville: Computer Science: Books

Finding Books

To find books at UNC Asheville, Appalachian State University or Western Carolina University, start with our catalog.

Choose "Request Item" to have books from ASU or WCU delivered to UNC Asheville via ABC Express.

To find books beyond our library network, try WorldCat.

Materials not held within our network can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Searching the Library Catalog by Subject

It's usually best to start with a keyword search, but subject headings applied to relevant books can help to refine your results. Open the item record of a book that interests you. Scroll down to the clickable subject headings, and run another search to explore similar books.

You can also browse the headings associated with a particular topic as a way of getting started with your research.

Search our catalog

Browsing by Call Number

Most computer science books fall within the QA & TK call number ranges on our Lower Level:

QA71-QA90--Computer Science, Software, etc

TK7885-TK7895--Computer engineering & hardware

E-Books

O'Reilly Online Learning and Training
A library including 47,000 books and 30,000 hours of videos targeting various business and technology needs including information technology and software; business; digital media; design; data security; programming languages; data science; professional and personal development; desktop and web applications; and beyond. Also includes introductory and hobbyist titles such as 900+ books in the "For Dummies" series, books for kids, titles on job-seeking and career development, and video company case studies.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Provides access to the full text of more than 28,000 reference, scholarly, and professional full-text books online. NOTE: New users must create a free account. Users may transfer books to portable devices; must install free software. (Previously NetLibrary.)
ABC-CLIO E-book Collection
Scholarly ebook collection emphasizing history & literature. Other subjects covered include: Business, Crime and Punishment, Entrepreneurship, Geography, Music, Physical and Mental Health, Politics, Law, and Government, Pop Culture, Folklore, and Mythology
Religion, Science, Technology, and the Environment, Society and Education, United States History, World History and World Issues. Includes American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography
Springer eBook Collection
Over 40,000 fully-searchable science, technology and medicine ebooks. Covers: Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical & Life Sciences, Business & Economics, Chemistry & Material Science, Computer Science, Earth & Environmental Science, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences & Law, Mathematics, Medicine, Physics & Astronomy, Professional and Applied Computing. Users may save or print PDF chapters.

Computer Science: Books