Skip to main content D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville

Legal Research: Legal Research

FDSys (formerly GPO Access)

U.S. CONGRESS

Thomas. House & Senate information, full text access to current bills, links to more congressional information. THOMAS is a service of the Library of Congress.

LAWS

Federal

Public Laws (1995-) GPO Access.

THOMAS (1973-) Public Laws and tools for tracing legislation. Library of Congress.

United States Code. Search by citation, Statutes at Large citation, popular name. 

State

North Carolina General Statutes. North Carolina General Assembly.

1st AMENDMENT & FREEDOM of SPEECH

Freedom of Expression at the National Endowment for the Arts. "An interdisciplinary education project partially funded by the American Bar Association, Commission on College and University Legal Studies through the ABA Fund for Justice and Education." A fine collection of resources, including examples of legal briefs. Julie Van Camp, California State University at Long Beach.

First Amendment Lawyers Association.

The Thomas Jefferson Center for the Protection of Free Expression.

GENERAL

Law Library Resource Exchange (LLRX). Directory. Organizes a large number of general legal resources.

FindLaw. Index to legal research resources on the Web. Yahoo-style layout makes finding specific types of resources easy. Federal, state, and international law, law reviews, organizations, legal forms, news, etc.

LawCrawler.  Search the Web for legal information. FindLaw has organized the search process for you with drop-down menus and clearly-defined search options.

NATIONAL

SUPREME COURT

The official print version of Supreme Court Decisions, called United States Reports or U.S. Reports, are available in Ramsey Library from 1966, v. 387- present. REF KF101 .U5. 

Supreme Court of the United States. Home page. Links to opinions.12

Supreme Court Decisions. "Project Hermes" archive maintained by Cornell University Legal Information Institute contains nearly all opinions of the court issued since May of 1990. Also, over 600 important decisions are available as a searchable collection.

OYEZ. Multimedia archive of the Supreme Court.

Findlaw's Supreme Court Opinions. 1893-

 

FEDERAL COURT

Federal Judiciary Home Page. All about our federal court system.

U. S. Sentencing Commission. Establishes sentencing policies for federal courts.

Indexes and Databases

Citing Legal Resources

Introduction to Basic Legal Citation (1997-98 ed.). Peter W. Martin, Cornell Law School.

Organized by type of material, such as cases, laws, constitutions, etc.

Student guide to research in the digital age : how to locate and evaluate information sources / Leslie F. Stebbins.

Located in Ramsey Library's GENERAL COLLECTION  (ZA3075 .S74 2006), this reference covers usage of many types of accessible information including books, e-books, articles, digitized collections, biographies, legal research and government documents. A critical chapter is devoted to citing sources, avoiding plagiarism, and organizing references.

Ask Your Librarians!