Ramsey Library at UNC Asheville: Foreign Languages: Reference & Data

Using Reference Resources

A reference source is a compendium of authoritative information, compiled for ease of use.

Reference materials include

Reference materials may be found on our main floor to the left of the Research Services Desk as well as online.

Dictionary of Languages: The Definitive Reference to More than 400 Languages
REFERENCE PB331 .D35 1998
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
REFERENCE GT2850 .E53 2003
Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion
REFERENCE BL65.P7 E53 2007
The Encyclopedia of the Peoples of the World
REFERENCE GN495.4 .E53 1993
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
REFERENCE GN307 .E53 1991
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
REFERENCE H40.A2 I5 2008
Routledge Dictionary of Language and Linguistics
REFERENCE P29 .B875 1996
Seven Language Dictionary
French-English/English-French, German-English/English-German, Hebrew-English/English-Hebrew, Italian-English/English-Italian, Portuguese-English/English-Portuguese, Russian-English/English-Russian, Spanish-English/English-Spanish
REFERENCE P361 .S55 1978
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
REFERENCE GN333 .W67 1998

Gale Literature Resource Center
Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
MLA Bibliography
Covers scholarly research on English, American, and world literature, folklore, languages, and linguistics. 1926+
The World Bank: Data
Provides a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe. Contains World Development Indicators (WDI), Global Development Finance (GDF), Africa Development Indicators (ADI), and Global Economic Monitor (GEM).