Skip to main content D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville

Events & Exhibits: 2012 Brown Bag Talks

The Names of Things

Thursday, September 6 
12:30-1:30 
Special Collections Reading Room

John Wood
Anthropology


Fiction and the Figures of Life: 
A Talk with the Author of The Names of Things: A Novel

27 Views of Asheville

Thursday, September 27 
12:30-1:30 
Special Collections Reading Room

Rick Chess, Holly Iglesias, Dan Pierce
Language and Literature, Master of Liberal Arts, History


27 Views of Asheville: A Southern Mountain Town in Prose & Poetry 
A Talk with Contributors

Creativity and the Child (in all of us)

Thursday, October 11 
12:30-1:30 
Special Collections Reading Room

Mark Sidelnick
Associate Professor of Education, Coordinator K-12 Art


Creativity and the Child (in all of us) 
A discussion of what creativity is, how we recognize it, its presence in children (of all ages), and where it goes once we “grow up.”

Sidelnick

Gordon McKinney

Thursday, October 18 
12:30-1:30 
Special Collections Reading Room

Gordon McKinney
Retired Director of the Appalachian Center, Berea College

Appalachian history scholar, Dr. McKinney, discusses Wilma Dykeman’s The Tall Woman in the context of the Civil War.


Sponsored in collaboration with the Wilma Dykeman Legacy Board and the Center for Diversity Education Lincoln Exhibit

Fruta Bomba: a Reading

Thursday, October 25 (date change)
12:30-1:30 
Special Collections Reading Room

Holly Iglesias
Master of Liberal Arts


Fruta Bomba 
Holly Iglesias reads from her recently published poetry collection.

Pedagogical Patterns: Advice For Educators

Thursday, November 1 
12:30-1:30 
Special Collections Reading Room

Mary Lynn Manns
Associate Professor of Management and Accountancy

Pedagogical Patterns: Advice For Educators

Mary Lynn will tell us about her latest book which started as an idea among university educators in three different countries and grew, over many years, into a book of contributions from educators throughout the world.

Mary Lynn Manns

Spring 2012 Schedule

Thursday, January 26, 2012

Grant Hardy (Humanities)

Great Minds of the Eastern Intellectual Tradition

Ramsey Library's Whitman Room



Thursday, February 9, 2012

Darin Waters (History)

Barely Seen and Rarely Heard: Political Invisibility of Asheville’s Black Community 1865-1900

Ramsey Library's Whitman Room



Thursday, February 23, 2012

Sonya DiPalma (Mass Communication)

Feeding the Beast: How Your Organization Can Avoid Getting Bitten, or Even Eaten, in a Social Media Storm

Ramsey Library's Whitman Room


 

Thursday, March 15, 2012

Jeffrey Wilcox (Environmental Studies)

Regional Geology of the Colorado Plateau: A recap (with pictures) of the May 2011 UNCA Field Course

Ramsey Library's Whitman Room

 


Thursday, March 29, 2012

Marty Nicholson (Athletics)

"Justice for All: The History of the Justice Center" Nicholson's book covers the 47 year history of UNCA's Justice Center, home to UNC Asheville basketball and volleyball.

Ramsey Library's Whitman Room

   

Thursday, April 5, 2012

Mesha Maren and Matt Owen (a Student special event)

REDACTION!

LOCATION: Special Collections

Amy Borg, Eben Fenton, Chett Tiller, Jesse Rice-Evans, Rebecca Salazar

Redaction is a community-based, peer-facilitated creative writing workshop meeting weekly on Fridays in the University Writing Center. They welcome all comers to talk about and share their prose and poetry.

 

Thursday, April 19, 2012

David P. Gillette (Environmental Studies)

Can You Go Back Again? Some Lessons From Stream Restoration In Western North Carolina

Ramsey Library's Whitman Room