Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville
Feminist and Queer Information Studies Reader by In Feminist and Queer Information Studies Reader, Keilty and Dean put the field of Information Studies into critical conversation with studies of gender, sexuality, race, and technology. In classic and original essays, renowned scholars from a range of disciplines think through a broad array of information and technology philosophies and practices. Conceiving of "information" in a broad sense, the contributors reevaluate conventional methods and topics within Information Studies to examine encounters with information phenomena and technology that do not lend themselves easily to the scientific and behaviorist modes of description that have long dominated the field. A Foreword, Introduction, and Afterword provide helpful context to the reader's 27 essays, arranged around topics that include information as gendered labor, cyborgs and cyberfeminism, online environments, information organization, information extraction and flow, archives, and performance.
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
Gender Politics by Explores changing sex roles, transgender, intersex, bisexuality and related activist movements.
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Policing Sexuality by Policing Sexuality explores the regulation of sexual behaviour and identity by nation states, and questions how and why states have sought to influence and control the sexuality of its citizens.Julian C. H. Lee presents both theoretical and ethnographic literature, distilling common themes and causes and presenting factors that contribute towards a state's desire to control both the sexual behaviour and sexual identity of its citizens, such as the influence of colonialism, class, religion and national identity. Featuring five crucial case studies from India, Britain, the USA, Malaysia and Turkey, this fascinating comparative account challenges the coercive control state authority worldwide exert over the sexuality of its citizens.
Publication Date: 2011-09-09
Queering Gay and Lesbian Studies by Queering Gay and Lesbian Studies is a broadly interdisciplinary study that considers a key dilemma in gay and lesbian studies through the prism of identity and its discontents: the field studies has modeled itself on ethnic studies programs, perhaps to be intelligible to the university community, but certainly because the ethnic studies route to programs is well established. Since this model requires a stable and identifiable community, gay and lesbian studies have emphasized stable and knowable identities. The problem, of course is that sexuality is neither stable, tidy, nor developmental. With the advent of queer theory, there are now other perspectives available that frequently find themselves at odds with traditional gay and lesbian studies. In this pioneering new study, Thomas Piontek provides a critical analysis of the development of gay and lesbian studies alongside the development of queer theory, the disputes between them, and criticism of their activities from both in and outside of the gay academic community. Examining disputes about transgendering, gay male promiscuity, popular culture, gay history, political activism, and non-normative sexual practices, Piontek argues that it is vital to queer gay and lesbian studies--opening this emerging discipline to queer critical interventions without, however, further institutionalizing queer theory.
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Sexual Minority Research in the New Millennium by This book presents current research focusing on sexual minorities. Topics discussed include gay and lesbian parenthood; asexuality; media representations of trebly marginalised minorities; the effect of imaged contact on heterosexual women's attitudes toward lesbian women; the high-school experiences of sexual and gender minority youth and best practices in the development of interventions designed to attenuate homonegativity. The final entry is a "virtual discussion" in which contributors responded to a set of questions that focused on key issues in the field of sexual minority studies..
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Queerying Planning by This volume fills a gap in the literature on planning and the development of queer spaces. It highlights the resistance there has been within the planning profession to incorporate gay and lesbian concerns into the planning mainstream. Bringing together leading academic planners and geographers, it reflects on the ways in which issues germane to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community have been slowly integrated into the planning mainstream, as well as those topics on which there is more work to do.
Publication Date: 2011-09-28
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940
1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Includes content from microfilm, newsletters, organizational papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more. (Formerly Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity)
LGBT Life with Full Text
Index to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. Provides full text access to over 130 journals, indexing for 200 more, as well as access to more than 170 full-text monographs/books. 1950s+
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950.
Scholarly journal archive containing full text journals in a broad array of disciplines.
Full text access for over 20,000 e-books and journals
SocIndex with full text
Contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. Also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers.