Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville

HIST 396.001 Out of the Archives: Adventures in Digital History: Additional Online Research Tools and Aids

Your one-stop guide to help facilitate your Archival research and create your Digital History projects.

Ramsey Library Database

Another good place to check for primary sources is:

Primary Source Collections from Ramsey Library's Databases

Additional Sources

National Archives and Records Administration Genealogy ...

CLICK ON THE IMAGE ABOVE FOR MORE INFORMATION ON CATALOGS, DATABASES, AND OTHER ONLINE RESOURCES, COURTESY OF THE NATIONAL ARCHIVES

Digitized Primary Source Collections

 

These resources may help you to build the "larger" picture on your topic.

Library of Congress Digital Collections: Newspapers, photographs, documents, and other materials from the Library of Congress's extensive collections

Making of America: The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction

Documenting the American South: Contains texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture, from the University of North Carolina libraries

World Digital Library- Provides free access to maps, photographs, manuscripts, sound recordings, and documents from around the globe

Primary Sources from DocsTeach: Thousands of online primary source documents from the National Archives to bring the past to life 

The National Archives Catalog: Find online primary source material from The National Archive's Online Catalog

Our Documents: 100 Milestone Documents in American History

Outside Source Material

We highly recommend a newspapers.com subscription. newspapers.com can be accessed online through Ramsey Library, but a personal subscription provides access to much more material.

Collaborative Adventures in 'The Land of the Sky'