Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville

HIST 451 - Senior Seminar Prep - Dr. Daniel Pierce - Spring 2021: Online Primary Sources: Home

Your one stop shop for online sources for your Senior Capstone.

Special Collections & Archives Access Spring 2021

  • Special Collections is open by Appointment Only.
  • Access is limited to UNC Asheville Students, Faculty, and Staff Only.
  • A maximum of four people are allowed in Special Collections- this would include three patrons and the Archivist.
  • Masks must be worn the entire time in Special Collections.
  • Materials are quarantined for three days after use.

Please contact us to make an appointment for the Reading Room or for a Virtual Appointment.

(828)251-6645 or email us at speccoll@unca.edu

 

Citing Primary Sources in Chicago/Turabian Style

UNCA's Special Collections, in collaboration with UNCA History Faculty, developed this guide to citing primary sources in Chicago/Turabian style:

Guide to Citing Primary Sources

What are Special Collections?

What are Special Collections?

Ramsey Library's Special Collections contain a variety of primary materials that document the history and culture of Asheville and Western North Carolina.  Materials include manuscript collections, photographs, maps, oral histories, company records, church and synagogue records, scrapbooks, and other materials. A list of collections available for research is available on the Home Page for Special Collections.

Special Collections also includes rare and small-press books and pamphlets with an emphasis on Asheville and the surrounding region.

How Do I Use Special Collections and Archives?

What can I expect to find in an Archive?

  • Archives and special collections can contain manuscript collections, personal papers, business records, photograph collections, oral histories, maps, audio and video recordings, rare books and periodicals, university and/or corporate records, and other sources. Because archives and special collections contain unique materials, each archive and special collection has its own distinct set of materials. Often an archive has a particular collection focus or concentration - for instance, UNCA's Special Collections concentrates on collecting materials related to Asheville and Western North Carolina, but there are exceptions to this general rule. For instance, we have a lot of materials related to World War I.

What is a "finding aid," and how do I use it?

  • Finding aids describe what you can expect to find in a collection. Finding aids will include such information as:
    • the title of the collection
    • a description of what's in the collection
    • information about the person or organization who created the collection
    • citation information
    • how big the collection is (sometimes called "extent" and stated in linear or cubic feet)
    • a list of what is in each box in the collection (sometimes called "container list" or "collection inventory")
  • Here's an example of a finding aid, in this instance for the Julian Price Papers and Recordings in UNCA's Special Collections: http://toto.lib.unca.edu/findingaids/mss/price/JulianPriceFindingAid.html
  • Finding aids can look different and have variations on the types of information in them. This is another, older finding aid for the Upper French Broad Defense Association from UNCA's Special Collection. While it looks different it still has the same basic information: http://toto.lib.unca.edu/findingaids/mss/upper_french_broad/default_ufbda.html

Special Collections and Assistant Archivist

Profile Photo
Ashley McGhee Whittle
Contact:
205C Ramsey Library, CPO #1500
UNC Asheville
One University Heights
Asheville, NC 28804
(828)251-6645
Website