Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville
As a starting point, try searching our online reference sources:
Over 220 peer-reviewed academic journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities
Gale Virtual Reference Library
30 Reference books and Encyclopedias in Religion, History, Philosophy, and more.
Humanities International Complete
Includes major journals in the humanities' studies of literature, history, philosophy, archaeology, classics, performing arts, and religion. The collection includes full text for more than 1,200 journals and citations to over 2.9 million article and book records, including peer-reviewed, scholarly, and popular perspectives. Coverage includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Scholarly journal archive containing full text journals in a broad array of disciplines.
Over 180 scholarly titles in the fields of: Life Sciences, Mathematics & Physical Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Humanities, and Law
Full text access for over 20,000 e-books and journals
ABC-CLIO E-book Collection
Scholarly ebook collection emphasizing history & literature. Other subjects covered include: Business, Crime and Punishment, Entrepreneurship, Geography, Music, Physical and Mental Health, Politics, Law, and Government, Pop Culture, Folklore, and Mythology
Religion, Science, Technology, and the Environment, Society and Education, United States History, World History and World Issues. Includes American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography
Cambridge Companions Online (CCO)
Two searchable collections: the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture
Cambridge Histories Online (CHO)
Contains more than 350 volumes and covers more than 10 subject areas.
Grouped by subject, topic, and region, these resources are helpful guides: