Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville

Religious Studies: Reference

Resources for Religious Studies

Using Reference Resources

A reference source is a compendium of authoritative information, compiled for ease of use.

Reference materials include

  • subject or general encyclopedias, dictionaries, guides, and thesauri 
  • statistics
  • biographical compilations
  • maps, gazetteers, ... and more
Reference materials may be found on our main floor to the left of the Research Services Desk as well as online.

Key Resources - Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

The following Reference Databases are collections of dozens to hundreds of encyclopedias each, and are a good starting point for finding background and ideas on religious topics. 

Below are a selective list of encyclopedias and dictionaries related to the study of RELIGION found in our Reference stacks:

KEY REFERENCE TITLES IN RELIGION

ENCYCLOPEDIAS & DICTIONARIES

  • Anchor Bible Dictionary. Ed. by David Noel Freedman. Doubleday, 1992. 4 vols. (Ref BS 440 .A54 1992)
  • Dictionary of Early Christian Beliefs. Ed. by David W. Bercot. Hendrickson, 1998. (Ref BR 66.5 .D53 1998)
  • The Early Church: An Annotated Bibliography of Literature in English. By Thomas A. Robinson. ATLA, 1993. (Ref BR 162.2 .B1 R63 1993)
  • Encyclopedia of Early Christianity. 2nd ed. Ed. by Everett Ferguson. Garland, 1997.
    2 vols. (Ref BR 162.2 .E53 1997)
  • Encyclopedia of Religion. Ed. by Mircea Eliade. Macmillan, 1987. 16 vols. (Ref BL 31 .E46 1986)
  • Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church. Ed. by F. L. Cross. 3rd ed. by E. A. Livingstone. Oxford University Press, 1997. (Ref BR 95 .O8 1997)
 

BIBLIOGRAPHIES:

 
  • Anon. 1951. A Bibliographical Guide to the History of Christianity. New York: Peter Smith.

  • Anon. 1983. Religion and Society in North America: An Annotated Bibliography. Santa Barbara, Calif: ABC-Clio Information Services.

  • Anon. 2000. The History of Science and Religion in the Western Tradition: An Encyclopedia. Garland reference library of the humanities vol. 1833. New York: Garland Pub.

  • Anon. 2007. Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion. 2nd ed. Washington, D.C: CQ Press.

  • Bass, Dorothy C. 1986. Women in American Religious History: An Annotated Bibliography and Guide to Sources. G.K. Hall women's studies publications. Boston, Mass: G.K. Hall.

  • Berkowitz, Morris I. 1967. Social Scientific Studies of Religion: A Bibliography. Pittsburgh: University of Pittsburgh Press.

  • Besserman, Lawrence L. 1988. Chaucer and the Bible: A Critical Review of Research, Indexes, and Bibliography. Garland reference library of the humanities vol. 839. New York: Garland Pub.

  • Blasi, Anthony J. 1986. Issues in the Sociology of Religion: A Bibliography. New York: Garland Pub.

  • Diehl, Katharine Smith. 1962. Religions, Mythologies, Folklores: An Annotated Bibliography. 2nd ed. New York: Scarecrow Press.
  • The Early Church: An Annotated Bibliography of Literature in English. By Thomas A. Robinson. ATLA, 1993. (Ref BR 162.2 .B1 R63 1993)
  • Field, Thomas W. 1967. An Essay Towards an Indian Bibliography; Being a Catalogue of Books Relating to the History, Antiquities, Languages, Customs, Religion, Wars, Literature, and Originof the American Indians, in the Library of Thomas W. Field. Detroit: Gale Research Co.

  • Fischer, Clare Benedicks. 1995. Of Spirituality: A Feminist Perspective. ATLA bibliography series no. 35. Evanston, Ill.: American Theological Library Association.

  • Homan, Roger. 1986. The Sociology of Religion: A Bibliographical Survey. Bibliographies and indexes in religious studies no. 9. New York: Greenwood Press.

  • Kaylor, Noel Harold. 1992. The Medieval Consolation of Philosophy: An Annotated Bibliography. Garland medieval bibliographies vol. 7. New York: Garland Pub.

  • Koenig, Harold G. 1995. Research on Religion and Aging: An Annotated Bibliography. Bibliographies and indexes in gerontology no. 27. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press.

  • Lippy, Charles H. 1985. Bibliography of Religion in the South. Macon, GA: Mercer.

  • Melton, J. Gordon, and Institute for the Study of American Religion. 1982. Magic, Witchcraft, and Paganism in America: A Bibliography ; Compiled from the Files of the Institute for the Study of American Religion. Garland bibliographies on sects and cults v. 1. New York: Garland Pub.

  • Osterreich, Shelley Anne. 1998. Native North American Shamanism: An Annotated Bibliography. Bibliographies and indexes in American history no. 38. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press.

  • Potter, Karl H. 1988. Guide to Indian Philosophy. Asian philosophies and religions resource guides. Boston, Mass: G.K. Hall.

  • Saliba, John A. 1990. Social Science and the Cults: An Annotated Bibliography. New York: Garland Pub.

  • Thompson, Laurence G. 1993. Chinese Religion: Publications in Western Languages, 1981 Through 1990. Ann Arbor, Mich: Association for Asian Studies.

  • Turner, Harold W. 1977. Bibliography of New Religious Movements in Primal Societies. Boston: G. K. Hall.

  • Wood, James Edward. 2005a. Church and State in Historical Perspective: A Critical Assessment and Annotated Bibliography. Bibliographies and indexes in religious studies no. 55. Westport, Conn: Praeger.

  • ---. 2005b. Church and State in the Modern World: A Critical Assessment and Annotated Bibliography. Bibliographies and indexes in religious studies no. 56. Westport, Conn: Praeger.

SOCIOLOGY & ANTHROPOLOGY OF RELIGION

RELIGION AND ANTHROPOLOGY

RELIGION AND ARCHAEOLOGY

RELIGION AND SCIENCE