Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville
Start with the basic searches below or use the tabs above to locate Books, Journal Articles, Reference Materials, and Film and Images.
British History Research Guide
William Hogarth, The Wedding of Stephen Beckingham and Mary Cox. The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Marquand Fund, 1936 (36.111).Image © The Metropolitan Museum of Art. [ARTStor: educational use] Further reproduction of any kind is prohibited without express written permission in advance from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
Key British History Resources
Scholarly journal archive containing full text journals in a broad array of disciplines.
The British Library
The Library website provides journal articles, books, photographs, historical primary sources, online galleries and much more.
British History Online
A digital library that covers medieval to modern British history using both primary and secondary resources.
The National Archives
The archives has resources for students and teachers and over 1,000 years of government documents. After doing a search in the catalog, the researcher can view the document for free or purchase a copy online.
A Vision of Britian Through Time
The website includes maps, historical descriptions and statistical trends in Britain from 1801 to 2001.
Oxford Scolarship Online
A vast and expanding database that offers access to over 3,000 of Oxford books ranging from Economics to Mathematics to History.
British History and Literature Resources
To schedule a research
consultation, contact us at