Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville
Primary Source Databaseses for Literature, Composition, and Rhetoric Studies
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Contains digital page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Times Digital Archive 1785-2006
Searchable access to more than 200 years of backfile issues of The Times newspaper of London, England, from its origin in 1785 through 2006, including full page facsimile images digitized from microfilm. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950.
Collections of art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. It includes architecture, painting, photography, prints, drawings, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects.
New York Times (1851-2006) - Historical Newspaper Collection
Full-image articles from the last 150 years. Includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue -- cover to cover -- in downloadable pdf files.
Ethnic American Newspapers (from the Balch collection) 1799-1971
A fully searchable collection of 130 newspapers in 10 languages across 25 states, with a concentration on Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak and Welsh descent. Covers 1799-1971.
America's Historical Newspapers
Searchable Web-based archive of 170 early American newspapers from 24 states. 1690-1876 (Readex/NewsBank)
America's Historical Newspapers: North Carolina
Searchable Web-based archive of ~35 North Carolina newspapers ranging from Wilmington in the East to Charlotte in the West with varied coverage among the years of 1775-1958 (Readex/NewsBank)
Early American Imprints Series I (1639-1819)
Resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America
Early American imprints Series II (1801-1819)
Resource for information about every aspect of life in early 19th-century America