Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville
Digitized Collections and Materials
Agudas Israel Synagogue Collection - contains selected digitized materials from the larger Agudas Israel Synagogue Collection housed in Special Collections.
Ada and Lou Pollock Collection - Includes information on the founding and upkeep of the West Asheville Hebrew Cemetery.
Oral History with Rev. James H Black, 1977 - Contains a full transcript
Unitarian Universalist Church of Asheville Oral History Collection - Contains many transcripts
Jewish Heritage in Western North Carolina Oral History Collection - Contains some transcripts
Scanned Documents from Special Collections:
Jewish Welfare Board Letter
From Beth Ha Tephila Congregation Collection, Box 1, Folder 3
McDowell Certificate of Conversion
From Beth Ha Tephila Congregation Collection, Box 5, Folder 23
St. Matthias Episcopal Church History
Founded in 1865 in Asheville as the Freedmens Chapel, it is the first organized African American Episcopal congregation in North Carolina. From the Heritage of Black Highlanders Collection, Box 1, Folder 2
"I believe" - testimonial from an anonymous Unitarian
Members of the Unitarian Universalist Church in Asheville presented brief "I believe" testimonials in the 1990s. This is an anonymous testimonial from the Unitarian Universalist Church of Asheville Collection, Box 9, Folder 14
Unitarian Universalist Church in Asheville welcome flyer - 1999
A flyer describing the UUCA to visitors. From the Unitarian Universalist Church in Asheville Collection, Box 13, Folder 13
"Reading Courses in Science," by Rev. R. F. Campbell, D. D., First Presbyterian Church, Asheville NC.
Published in "The Presbyterian of the South," July 19, 1931. From the Robert F. Campbell Papers, Box 1, Folder 62
Southern Dharma Retreat Center - 2004 Retreat Schedule
From the Southern Dharma Retreat Center Collection (still being processed)