Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville

Children's and Young Adult Literature: Reference

Using Reference Resources

A reference source is a compendium of authoritative information, compiled for ease of use.

Reference materials include

  • subject or general encyclopedias, dictionaries and thesauri 
  • statistics
  • biographical compilations
  • maps
Reference materials may be found on our main floor to the left of the Research Services Desk as well as online.

Key Reference Titles

Dictionaries / Encyclopedias / Guides

Beacham's Guide to Literature for Young Adults [REF PN 1009 .A1 B13 1989]

The Children's Literature Dictionary [REF PN 1008.5 .L38 2002]

Continuum Encyclopedia of Young Adult Literature [REF PN 1008.5 .C67 2005]

Encyclopedia of Fable [REF PN 980 .S66 1998]

Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature [REF PN 1008.5 .O94 2006]

Biographical Information

Biography and Genealogy Master Index (online index)

Black Authors and Illustrators of Children's Books [REF PN 1009 .A1 B1]

Something About the Author [REF PN 452 .S6]

St. James Guide to Children's Writers [REF 1009 .A1 T9]

Handbooks / Research / Publishing

Children's Writer's and Illustrator's Market [REF PN 147.5 C48]

Who's Who in Children's Books: A Treasury of the Familiar Characters of Childhood [REF PN 1009 .A1 F575]

Censorship/Intellectual Freedom

ALA Office of Intellectual Freedom - monitors challenges made against children's books.

National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) - provides information on how to respond to book challenges.

Banned in the USA: A Reference Guide to Book Censorship in Schools and Public Libraries [REF Z 658 .U5  F64 2002]