Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville
To find books at UNC Asheville, Appalachian State University or Western Carolina University, start with our catalog.
Choose "Request Item" to have books from ASU or WCU delivered to UNC Asheville via ABC Express.
To find books beyond our library network, try WorldCat.
Materials not held within our network can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
The Juvenile Book Collection
Children's books are located on the library lower floor. The collection includes winners and honor titles from all major awards. Call numbers for the collection have the prefix JUV. Search the library catalog by author or title to identify specific books.
Searching the Library Catalog
Broad subject headings include:
Young adult literature
You may focus your search by selecting those displayed on the catalog with the broad heading.
Children's literature -- collected works
Children's literature -- history and criticism
Young adult literature -- bibliography
Young adult literature -- history and criticism
The subdivision, juvenile literature, may be used to identify children’s and young adult titles in many subject disciplines.
Art -- juvenile literature
Science -- juvenile literature
Authors as Subjects
Individual authors may be searched as subjects simply by entering the name in a subject search.
Hamilton, Virginia -- criticism and interpretation
Keyword searches identify terms in the subject, title, and content description fields of a catalog record. Simply enter one or more distinctive words describing your topic and the catalog will retrieve and display titles in which all of these words appear in the catalog record.
juvenile AND mountain AND folklore
cats AND dogs AND juvenile
You may also enter search terms and focus your search by selecting the "Modify Search" tab and limiting results to "UNCA Juvenile Lit"
Free Online Resources
A convenient tool for locating an author or title in any of the Gale Literary Series (DLB, CLC, TCLC, etc.). Bring your citation to the library's print Reference collection to find full text.
Contains 30,000+ free online books and audiobooks
"Great books online." Online reference and literary titles.
New York Times Books
Book reviews, bestsellers, and book news.
MIT Global Shakespeares
The MIT Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive is a collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata provided by scholars and educators in the field.
The Poetry Archive
The Poetry Archive exists to help make poetry accessible, relevant and enjoyable to a wide audience.
The Paris Review
The Paris Review hopes to emphasize creative work—fiction and poetry—not to the exclusion of criticism, but with the aim in mind of merely removing criticism from the dominating place it holds in most literary magazines and putting it pretty much where it belongs, i.e., somewhere near the back of the book. I think The Paris Review should welcome these people into its pages: the good writers and good poets, the non-drumbeaters and non-axe-grinders. So long as they're good
Book reviews and book news from National Public Radio.