Ramsey Library at UNC Asheville: Psychology: Reference

Using Reference Resources

A reference source is a compendium of authoritative information, compiled for ease of use.

Reference materials include

Reference materials may be found on our main floor to the left of the Research Services Desk as well as online.

Credo Reference
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of titles covering everything from accounting to zoology

Gale Virtual Reference Library
30 Reference books and Encyclopedias in Religion, History, Philosophy, and more.
AccessScience
Resource discontinued as of 12/31/2017.
Please contact libref@unca.edu if you need help accessing alternate resources.

Good places to start:

Credo Reference
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of titles covering everything from accounting to zoology
Gale Virtual Reference Library
30 Reference books and Encyclopedias in Religion, History, Philosophy, and more.
Oxford Reference
Resource discontinued as of 12/31/2017.
Please contact libref@unca.edu if you need help accessing alternate resources.
CQ Researcher
Covering today's most important issues and controversial subjects. Weekly issue covers an in-depth, single topic report featuring more than 12,000 words of text and extensive bibliographies.
Oxford English Dictionary
The standard dictionary of the English language. Includes a history of individual words along with their derivation and usage examples.