Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville
Free Video Search Tools and Online Archives
American Memory Project - Motion Picture Collections
American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress’s vast resources of digitized American historical materials.
A National Preserve of Documentary Films about American Roots Cultures streamed with essays about the traditions and filmmaking. The site includes transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites.
Internet Archive - Culture and Academic Films
Features collections from the Academic Film Archive and the Media Burn Independent Film Archive
Nearly 200 videos of "the world's most fascinating thinkers and doers, who are challenged to give the talk of their lives (in 18 minutes)." Videos are released under a Creative Commons license, so they can be freely shared and reposted.
Planet Money is a twice-weekly NPR podcast about the global economy.
PBS Video Collection
Over 400 streaming videos from PBS
Films on Demand
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.