Skip to Main Content Ramsey Library UNC Asheville

Biology: Reference

Resources for Biology

Using Reference Resources

A reference source is a compendium of authoritative information, compiled for ease of use.

Reference materials include

subject or general encyclopedias, dictionaries and thesauri
statistics
biographical compilations
maps

Reference materials may be found on our main floor to the left of the Research Services Desk as well as online.

Key Reference Titles

Biology Data Book
REFERENCE QH310 .A392
A handbook of biological investigation
GENERAL QH324 .A52 1987
Encyclopedia of biodiversity
REFERENCE QH541.15.B56 E53 2001
The Desk Encyclopedia Of Microbiology
REFERENCE QR9 .D47 2004

Field Guides

Field Guides in the UNCA collection include:

Audubon Society Field Guide series
Guides to butterflies, fossils, insects/spiders, mushrooms, reptiles/amphibians, and seashells of North America

Peterson field guide series
Guides to coral reefs, ferns, mammals, herbs/medicinal plants, butterflies, and birds of North America.

A field guide to the trees and shrubs of the southern Appalachians
GENERAL QK122.3 .S88 1994

National Geographic complete birds of North America
GENERAL QL682 .N38 2006

Online Resources

JSTOR Plant Science
Resource for specimens, taxonomy and other materials.
Credo Reference: Science
Various reference titles available online, including The Collins Dictionary of Biology, The Encyclopedia of Insects, Keywords and Concepts in Evolutionary Developmental Biology and more.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
30 Reference books and Encyclopedias in Religion, History, Philosophy, and more.
AccessScience
Resource discontinued as of 12/31/2017.
Please contact libref@unca.edu if you need help accessing alternate resources.

Free Data Sites