Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville
Research Database List by Subject
Cambridge Histories Online (CHO)
Contains more than 350 volumes and covers more than 10 subject areas.
Cambridge Companions Online (CCO)
Two searchable collections: the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture
ABC-CLIO E-book Collection
Scholarly ebook collection emphasizing history & literature. Other subjects covered include: Business, Crime and Punishment, Entrepreneurship, Geography, Music, Physical and Mental Health, Politics, Law, and Government, Pop Culture, Folklore, and Mythology
Religion, Science, Technology, and the Environment, Society and Education, United States History, World History and World Issues. Includes American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography
Internet Archive: Text Archive
Internet Archive Texts searches the full text of books digitized by Project Gutenberg and by various libraries around the world.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Provides access to the full text of more than 28,000 reference, scholarly, and professional full-text books online. NOTE: New users must create a free account. Users may transfer books to portable devices; must install free software. (Previously NetLibrary.)
Oxford Scholarship Online
Full text of scholarly books from Oxford University Press. Both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences. Collections are available in: classics, history, management, music, philosophy, political science & religion
SpringerLink is a gateway to e-journals and e-books published by Springer Verlag, the world's largest academic publisher. It provides access to most Springer e-journals from 1997 forward, the complete web backfiles of all its journals through 1996, and nearly all its e-books from 2005.
Key online journals and databases:
Over 220 peer-reviewed academic journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities
Humanities International Complete
Includes major journals in the humanities' studies of literature, history, philosophy, archaeology, classics, performing arts, and religion. The collection includes full text for more than 1,200 journals and citations to over 2.9 million article and book records, including peer-reviewed, scholarly, and popular perspectives. Coverage includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Scholarly journal archive containing full text journals in a broad array of disciplines.
Over 180 scholarly titles in the fields of: Life Sciences, Mathematics & Physical Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Humanities, and Law
Full text access for over 20,000 e-books and journals
Philosopher's Index with Full Text
Provides citations with abstracts to scholarly research in philosophy. Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. 1940-present
Sage Journals Online
Includes 560+ journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. Holdings are especially strong in the Social Sciences.
Wiley Online Library
Provides full text access to more than 1,000 scholarly journals covering business, chemistry, computer science, earth and environmental science, education, law, life sciences, mathematics, medicine and healthcare, physics and astronomy, psychology, social sciences and more. 1990s+