Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville
To find books at UNC Asheville, Appalachian State University or Western Carolina University, start with our catalog.
Choose "Request Item" to have books from ASU or WCU delivered to UNC Asheville via ABC Express.
To find books beyond our library network, try WorldCat.
Materials not held within our network can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Searching the Library Catalog
Books for research topics in liberal studies may be shelved in many different call number ranges. Search the library catalog using appropriate keywords or subjects.
It's usually best to start with a keyword search, but subject headings applied to relevant books can help refine results. Open the item record of a book that interests you. Scroll down to the clickable subject headings, and run another search to explore similar books.
You can also browse the headings associated with a particular topic as a way of getting started with your research.
Cambridge Histories Online (CHO)
Contains more than 350 volumes and covers more than 10 subject areas.
Cambridge Companions Online (CCO)
Two searchable collections: the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture
ABC-CLIO E-book Collection
Scholarly ebook collection emphasizing history & literature. Other subjects covered include: Business, Crime and Punishment, Entrepreneurship, Geography, Music, Physical and Mental Health, Politics, Law, and Government, Pop Culture, Folklore, and Mythology
Religion, Science, Technology, and the Environment, Society and Education, United States History, World History and World Issues. Includes American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography
Internet Archive: Text Archive
Internet Archive Texts searches the full text of books digitized by Project Gutenberg and by various libraries around the world.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Provides access to the full text of more than 28,000 reference, scholarly, and professional full-text books online. NOTE: New users must create a free account. Users may transfer books to portable devices; must install free software. (Previously NetLibrary.)
Oxford Scholarship Online
Full text of scholarly books from Oxford University Press. Both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences. Collections are available in: classics, history, management, music, philosophy, political science & religion
SpringerLink is a gateway to e-journals and e-books published by Springer Verlag, the world's largest academic publisher. It provides access to most Springer e-journals from 1997 forward, the complete web backfiles of all its journals through 1996, and nearly all its e-books from 2005.