Ramsey Library at UNC Asheville: Comics and Graphic Novels: Reference Resources

Using Reference Resources

A reference source is a compendium of authoritative information, compiled for ease of use.

Reference materials include

subject or general encyclopedias, dictionaries and thesauri
statistics
biographical compilations
maps

Reference materials may be found on our main floor to the left of the Research Services Desk as well as online.

Reviews

The 101 Best Graphic Novels
Stephen Weiner - Recommendations for 101 graphic novels, includes a short summary, published in 2005
ASU MAIN STACKS
more...less...
This item is available via ABC Express.

See the "Online Resources" tab for more reviews.

Manga: The complete guide
Jason Thompson - Reviews over 900 manga series, includes guidelines for age-appropriateness
ASU MAIN STACKS
more...less...
This item is available via ABC Express.

Recommended Reference Databases

Oxford Art Online
A searchable reference library that includes: Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. View biographies, subject entries, and images as well as thematic timelines and learning resources.
Credo Reference
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of titles covering everything from accounting to zoology

Key Reference Titles

Encyclopedia of Comic Books and Graphic Novels by M. Keith Booker
Call Number: UNCA REFERENCE PN6707 .E49 2010
ISBN: 0313357463
With an emphasis on Anglophone comics, this encyclopedia includes articles on characters, authors, series and subjects
The DC Comics Encyclopedia: The Definitive Guide to the Characters of the DC Universe by Michael Teitelbaum, Scott Beatty, Robert Greenburger & Daniel Wallace
Call Number: ASU MAIN STACKS
ISBN: 0756641195
Profiles characters from the 1930s to 2008, includes details like special powers and affiliations
This item is available via ABC Express
Encyclopedia of Weird Westerns: Supernatural and Science Fiction Elements in Novels, Pulps, Comics, Films, Television and Games by Paul Green
Call Number: ASU MAIN STACKS
ISBN: 0786443901
This volume includes character and plot summaries for comic book, film, television, novel and video and role-playing game westerns
This item is available via ABC Express
Manga Design by Amana Masanao & Julius Wiedemann
Call Number: WCU GENERAL
ISBN: 3822825913
An encyclopedia-style volume highlighting influential manga writers and artists
This item is available via ABC Express
Marvel Graphic Novels and Related Publications: An annotated guide to comics, prose novels, children's books, articles, criticism and reference works, 1965-2005 by Robert G. Weiner
Call Number: ASU MAIN STACKS
ISBN: 0786425008
This volume provides detailed bibliographic information for individual Marvel graphic novels, focusing on mainstream series
This item is available via ABC Express
The Superhero Book: The Ultimate Encyclopedia of Comic-Book Icons and Hollywood Heroes by Gina Misiroglu & David A. Roach
Call Number: ASU/WCU
ISBN: 1578591546
This volume encompasses characters and genres from the 1930s to 2004, includes graphic novels, television, film and video games
This item is available via ABC Express

Online Resources

Grand Comics Database
The GCD is a non-profit, volunteer-driven database of printed comics throughout the world.
Comic Book Database
Comic Book DB is a volunteer-driven catalog of every comic, graphic novel, manga, creator and character possible.
Don Markstein's Toonpedia
This comprehensive site includes information about cartoons, comic books and newspaper strips, arranged in alphabetical order by character and with articles on authors, artists and publishers.
The Graphic Novel Archive
The Graphic Novel Archive includes reviews and previews and is searchable by creator, publisher, content rating and more.