Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville
Naxos Music Library
Streaming access to almost 2 million tracks of Classical, Contemporary Jazz, World, Folk, Adult Contemporary, Chinese music, Pop and Rock music. Includes biographical information on composers and artists.
Oxford Music Online
Searchable music reference containing The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music and Grove Music Online as well as sound file samples, timelines, and topical guides.
Africa Past & Present:
A podcast about African, History, Culture, & Politics by The Africa Online Digital Library.
Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent
Africa Focus brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary resources: research and teaching materials collected by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable items related to these fields held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries. This collection contains more than 3000 slides, 500 photographs, and 50 hours of sounds from forty-five different countries.
African Studies Collection
The African Studies Collection brings together primary and secondary resources; research and teaching materials created by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable items related to this field held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries.
Arts of Africa
Take an audio tour of Brooklyn Museum's Arts of Africa Exhibit.
Voices from the Days of Slavery
Audio of interviews with former slaves. Library of Congress.
Say it Plain, Say it Loud
A century of great African American speeches.
South African Voices
South African Voices is a three-volume work that includes: A Long Time Passed, Created in Olden Times, and The Way We Travelled: Oral History and Poetry. University of Wisconsin Digital Collections.
The Internet Archive: Audio
Contains over two hundred thousand free digital recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by our users.
StoryCorps is an independent nonprofit whose mission is to provide Americans of all backgrounds and beliefs with the opportunity to record, share, and preserve the stories of our lives.
Oral Histories in Ramsey Library's Special Collections Department
Special Collections contains oral histories of African Americans regarding their lives in Asheville in many collections, including: Asheville Urban Renewal, Center for Diversity Education, South Asheville Colored Cemetery, Voices of Asheville, and YWCA of Asheville 100 Years Oral History Project.