Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville

Music: Reference & Data

Using Reference Resources

A reference source is a compendium of authoritative information, compiled for ease of use.

Reference materials include

  • subject or general encyclopedias, dictionaries and thesauri 
  • statistics
  • biographical compilations
  • maps
Reference materials may be found on our main floor to the left of the Research Services Desk as well as online.

Key Reference Titles

Most music reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, bibliographies, etc.) are shelved in the M call number range in the reference collection on our main level.  Titles include:

All music guide to classical music
   REFERENCE ML156.9 .A385 2005

Encyclopedia of the Blues
   REFERENCE ML102 .B6 E53 2006

The Garland encyclopedia of world music
   REFERENCE ML100 .G16 1998
  
10 volumes organized by region - accompanying CDs are shelved in the media room.

The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians
   REFERENCE ML100 .N48 1980

The new Grove dictionary of opera
   REFERENCE ML102.O6 N5 1992

The Oxford history of western music
   REFERENCE ML160 .T18 2005

The rock song index: the 7500 most important songs of the rock and roll era
   REFERENCE ML128 .R6 P65 2005

The Routledge guide to music technology
   REFERENCE ML102 .S67 R68 2006

Sourcebook for research in music
   REFERENCE ML113 .C68 2005

Online Reference

Continuum encyclopedia of popular music of the world
   Available through Credo Reference

The Harvard biographical dictionary of music
   Available through Credo Reference

The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians online
   Availabe through Oxford University Press 

Library Floors