Ramsey Library at UNC Asheville: Asian Studies: Reference

Using Reference Resources

A reference source is a compendium of authoritative information, compiled for ease of use.

Reference materials include

Reference materials may be found on our main floor to the left of the Research Services Desk as well as online.

The World Bank: Data
Provides a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe. Contains World Development Indicators (WDI), Global Development Finance (GDF), Africa Development Indicators (ADI), and Global Economic Monitor (GEM).

WHO Global Health Observatory (GHO) data
UN FAO Statistics
OECD Factbook
CIA World Factbook
EarthTrends
Searchable database covering statistics on population, health, education, literacy, transportation, and water and sanitation for countries around the world.
ELDIS Country Profiles
Online documents organized by country.
Office of Minority Health & Health Disparities
Resource Center for Minority Data
Access to demographic information on Asian populations in the United States.
PubMed
Access to biomedical literature, life science journals, and online books.
Asian Development Bank
UNdata
Online access to all UN statistical databases. United Nations Statistics Division
Asian Human Rights Commission
Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific

Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy
ISBN: 9780415172813
A dictionary of Asian mythology
ISBN: 9780195120530
Encyclopedia of Asian history
ISBN: 9780684189000
Dictionary of Literary Biography by Deborah L. Madsen
Call Number: Ebook

ISBN: 078768130X

Publication Date: 2005-04-15

This award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, while satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers and scholars. Dictionary of Literary Biography provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography systematically presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods.For a listing of Dictionary of Literary Biography volumes sorted by genre click here.
The Columbia guide to Asian American literature since 1945
ISBN: 9780231126205
The encyclopedia of Eastern philosophy and religion : Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen
ISBN: 9780712670975
The Cambridge guide to Asian theatre
ISBN: 9780521588225
A Pictorial encyclopedia of the Oriental arts

Country Studies
Historical data and analysis of the social, economic, political, and national security systems of the world's countries
Cambridge Histories Online (CHO)
Includes texts on South-east Asia, China, Ancient China, Japan, India, the Pacific Islands, Early Inner Asia, and Russia.
Credo Reference
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of titles covering everything from accounting to zoology
Historical Statistics of the United States
A standard source for the quantitative facts of American history covering topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America. Download, manipulate and customize data.