Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville

Maps: Books / Print Resources

Special Collections

Special Collections Main Page

Visit special collections for historical local and regional maps. Some map images are available online.

Finding Books

To find books at UNC Asheville, Appalachian State University or Western Carolina University, start with our catalog.  

Choose "Request Item" to have books from ASU or WCU delivered to UNC Asheville via ABC Express.

To find books beyond our library network, try WorldCat.

Materials not held within our network can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Searching and Browsing

 

To search for a map, use advanced keyword search and limit 'location' to UNCA and 'material type' to MAP. Also try the keyword search terms (keyword) + map or (keyword) + atlas to find geographic materials classified as books or data CDs.

Our map and atlas collection is located beside the reference collection on our Main Level.  In the catalog, items in this section will have the location UNCA MAP, UNCA ATLAS, or UNCA FED DOC.  Though most FED DOC items are shelved behind bound periodicals, large maps are kept with the atlas collection.  Some examples of items in the collection:

Atlas of the world (Oxford)
UNCA ATLAS G1021 .A7545 2004

Craggy Pinnacle quadrangle, North Carolina - Buncombe Co. : 7.5 minute series (USGS topographic)
UNCA MAPS I 19.81:35082-F 4

Glacier Bay National Park and Preserve, Alaska, 1:250,000-scale (USGS  topographic)
UNCA FED DOC I 19.106:58135-D 7-TF-250

Some maps and atlases pertaining to a specific subject are shelved in the general or reference collections.  For example:

Atlas of world art
REFERENCE G1046.E1 O9 2004 

The atlas of global conservation: changes, challenges and opportunities to make a difference 
GENERAL S936 .A75 2010

Some government-issued maps are located in the government information section on our Main Level.  In the catalog, the location of these materials is listed as NC DOC or FED DOC.  For example:

Global GIS database digital atlas of Central and South America
UNCA FED CD-ROM I 19.121:62-A 

A geochemical atlas of North Carolina
UNCA NC DOC C 8 3:93 1993 

Search our catalog

Search our Catalog

WorldCat Search

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Google Books Search

Google Book Search