Ramsey Library at UNC Asheville: History: Journal Articles

Finding Articles

Use an article index or database to discover citations to relevant articles.

If you have trouble finding a full text copy of a particular article, search for the journal in the library catalog to see our full print and electronic holdings.

If the full-text of the article is not available, submit an Interlibrary Loan request.

Off-Campus Access

1. Follow links to library resources from our homepage.

2. Enter your first and last name and your One Card number.

Key Journal Resources

ProQuest Central
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
JSTOR
Scholarly journal archive containing full text journals in a broad array of disciplines.

Cambridge University Press
Online access to over 220 peer-reviewed academic journals covering a vast array of subjects from African Studies to History, to Social Studies.
Project Muse
An online database of over 200 full-text journals from leading other university presses. Covers a range of disciplines, including art, literature, history, mathematics, psychology, and religion.
WorldCat
Index to over 41 million book and audiovisual catalog records in 17,000 libraries.

Recommended Article Indexes and Databases

Humanities International Complete
Includes major journals in the humanities' studies of literature, history, philosophy, archaeology, classics, performing arts, and religion. The collection includes full text for more than 1,200 journals and citations to over 2.9 million article and book records, including peer-reviewed, scholarly, and popular perspectives. Coverage includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. (EBSCOhost)
Oxford Academic
Access to over 20,000 books and 500 journals in full text from Oxford University Press and other university presses. This multidisciplinary collection includes both classic and newly-published works and is especially strong in the areas of arts and humanities, law, medicine and health, science and mathematics, and the social sciences.
Wiley Online Library
Provides full text access to more than 22,000+ ebooks, 1,600 scholarly journals, and 250+ reference works covering business, chemistry, computer science, earth and environmental science, education, law, life sciences, mathematics, medicine and healthcare, physics and astronomy, psychology, social sciences and more. 1990s+
Cambridge Core
Over 220 peer-reviewed academic journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities
Cambridge Companions Online (CCO)
Two searchable collections: the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture
ATLA Religion Database
Online collection of major religion and theology journals including full text for more than 285,300 electronic articles and book reviews, from 150 journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States. 1908-present. (EBSCOhost)
ProQuest Military
Articles from topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.
Political Science Complete
Provides full text for over 400 publications, and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 800 journals. Features more than 165 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 27,000 full text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
SocIndex with full text
Contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. Also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers.
LGBT Life with Full Text
Index to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. Provides full text access to over 130 journals, indexing for 200 more, as well as access to more than 170 full-text monographs/books. 1950s+
America: History and Life
Scholarly literature about all periods of American history. (ABC-CLIO)
EconLit
Provides full text access to nearly 500 journals in all fields of economics. (EBSCOhost)