Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville
UNCA has subscriptions and access to a number of citation management systems. Citation management systems are programs that aid researchers with organizing and citing information.
Key Print Resources at UNCA
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by
Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2007
Publication Date: 2007-04-15
This seventh edition of Turabian's "Manual" is a classic reference revised for a new age. It is tailored to a new generation of writers using tools its original author could not have imagined--while retaining the clarity and authority that generations of scholars have come to associate with the name Turabian.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2009
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Widely adopted by universities, colleges, and secondary schools, theMLA Handbookgives step-by-step advice on every aspect of writing research papers, from selecting a topic to submitting the completed paper. For over half a century, theMLA Handbookis the guide millions of writers have relied on. The seventh edition is a comprehensive, up-to-date guide to research and writing in the online environment. It provides an authoritative update of MLA documentation style for use in student writing, including simplified guidelines for citing works published on the Web and new recommendations for citing several kinds of works, such as digital files and graphic narratives.
Writing History by
Call Number: D16 .S864 2004
Publication Date: 2003-07-17
Bringing together practical methods from both history and composition,Writing Historyprovides a wealth of tips and advice to help students research and write essays for history classes. The book covers all aspects of writing about history, including finding topics and researching them, interpreting source materials, drawing inferences from sources, and constructing arguments. It concludes with three chapters that discuss writing effective sentences, using precise wording, and revising. Using numerous examples from the works of cultural, political, and social historians,WritingHistoryserves as an ideal supplement to history courses that require students to conduct research. The second edition includes expanded sections on plagiarism, interviewing, and topic selection, as well as new sections on searching and using the Internet.
Citation Services Through UNCA
Flow is a new way to collect, manage and organize research papers and documents. You can read, annotate, organize, and cite your research as well as collaborate with friends and colleagues by sharing collections. (User registration required)
Online bibliographic management program that allows users to create a personal database of references and generate bibliographies in a variety of formats. (User registration required)
BibMe AutoFills citations for you. Download your MLA, APA, Chicago, or Turabian bibliography in RTF for free. (User registration required)
Zotero is a powerful, easy-to-use research tool that helps you gather, organize, and analyze sources and then share the results of your research. (User registration required)