Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville
BEGIN BY EXPLORING
FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION IN GENERAL AND SPECIALIZED ENCYCLOPEDIAS.
Read encyclopedia and/or news articles about an topic that interests you. Use these articles to get to know your topic generally.
As you read, consider how to customize your topic. What aspect would you like to explore? You might think about it in terms of time and events, social conditions and culture, geography, etc.
What questions need to be answered? What kinds of information will you need and where can you find them? What keywords will you use use to search for resources?
➙ FINDING ENCYCLOPEDIA ARTICLES
Oxford Art Online
A searchable reference library that includes: Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. View biographies, subject entries, and images as well as thematic timelines and learning resources.
Cambridge Histories Online (CHO)
Contains more than 350 volumes and covers more than 10 subject areas.
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of titles covering everything from accounting to zoology
Gale Virtual Reference Library
30 Reference books and Encyclopedias in Religion, History, Philosophy, and more.
Resource discontinued as of 12/31/2017.
Please contact email@example.com if you need help accessing alternate resources.
Gale Encyclopedia of Latin American History & Culture
Provides a multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. 5,700+ entries cover cultural issues and include numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
||A good topic is: broad enough to find information about, focused enough that the information isn't overwhelming, and interesting to you!
||Read your assignment carefully. Highlight guidelines and requirements.
||Encyclopedias are great starting points, but generally should not be used as scholarly sources.
||Save yourself some searching, and look for resource lists at the end of encyclopedia entries.