Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville
Primary Sources at UNCA & Available Locally
Special Collections at Ramsey Library
The purpose of the Special Collections and University Archives Unit of D. Hiden Ramsey Library is to facilitate the educational objectives of the University of North Carolina at Asheville and the broad mission and program objectives of the D. Hiden Ramsey Library.
Black Mountain College Museum
The Black Mountain College Museum + Arts Center is an exhibition space and resource center in downtown Asheville dedicated to exploring the history and legacy of the world's most acclaimed experimental educational community. We offer changing exhibitions, a video archive, research materials, and a selection of books and other materials for sale.
Western Regional Archives
The Western Regional Archives (WRA) collects, preserves, and makes available for public use historical and evidential materials relating to western North Carolina. The WRA is administered by the State Archives of North Carolina and operates under North Carolina General Statutes 121 and 132 in carrying out its archival mission and programs. The holdings consist primarily of private collections and some microfilmed county records.
The Black Mountain College Project
The mission of the Black Mountain College Project is to ensure that the history and influence of Black Mountain College are preserved and documented for future generations. The Project was formed with the conviction that the story of this unique educational experiment is of lasting interest and that the memories of those who taught and studied at Black Mountain College are critical to an understanding of the dynamics and accomplishments of that community.
Collections of art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. It includes architecture, painting, photography, prints, drawings, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects.