Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville

LANG 120: Academic Writing for Critical Inquiry - Dr. Dee James - Spring 2017: Books

Search

Search WNCLN (ASU, UNCA, WCU) via our classic catalog
Search Worldcat

Request books via Interlibrary Borrowing

Find print and online journals by title:

 

Use this when you're looking for the text of a particular article.

Browse e-journals by subject.

Find DVD, VHS & online video:

 


Browse streaming videos and DVDs

Search by Professor or Course:

Online reserves may be found in Moodle.
Find more information on our Course Reserves page.

Finding Books

To find books at UNC Asheville, Appalachian State University or Western Carolina University, start with our catalog.  

Choose "Request Item" to have books from ASU or WCU delivered to UNC Asheville via ABC Express.

To find books beyond our library network, try WorldCat.

Materials not held within our network can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Searching the Library Catalog by Subject

It's usually best to start with a keyword search, but subject headings applied to relevant books can help to refine your results. Open the item record of a book that interests you.  Scroll down to the clickable subject headings, and run another search to explore similar books.

You can also browse the headings associated with a particular topic as a way of getting started with your research.

How to read a call number

 

Ramsey Library uses the Library of Congress classification system.  Books are arranged by subject using a combination of  letters and number. Generally, most books on a subject will be shelved together.

To find the number TJ267.A96 2006  start with T. Sections are alphabetical, so TJ would follow T, TA, TB, TC and so on to TJ. Within the TJ section books are arranged numerically, so look for 267. Once you have found TJ267 the sequence will be alphabetical again, so look for A within TJ 267.

Note the location of your books in the catalog.  Reference books are located on the main level, while the general collection can be found on the upper and lower level.

Want help deciphering a Library of Congress call number?  Try this web page from University of Georgia: How to Read a Call Number.

 

E-Books


ABC-CLIO E-book Collection
Scholarly ebook collection emphasizing history & literature. Other subjects covered include: Business, Crime and Punishment, Entrepreneurship, Geography, Music, Physical and Mental Health, Politics, Law, and Government, Pop Culture, Folklore, and Mythology
Religion, Science, Technology, and the Environment, Society and Education, United States History, World History and World Issues.

Provides access e-books from 60 publishers on a wide array of topics.
NOTE: New users must create a free account.

NetLibrary 
Provides access to the full text of more than 22,000 reference, scholarly, and professional full-text books online.
NOTE: New users must create a free account.
Users may transfer books to portable devices; must install free software.

OneClickdigital Audio Books
Downloadable audiobooks. Requires one-time initial account set up.

Springer eBook Collection
Over 40,000 fully-searchable science, technology and medicine ebooks. Covers: Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical & Life Sciences, Business & Economics, Chemistry & Material Science, Computer Science, Earth & Environmental Science, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences & Law, Mathematics, Medicine, Physics & Astronomy, Professional and Applied Computing. Users may save or print PDF chapters.

More E-book collections.