Skip to Main Content D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville

FYS 178 Honors: The French Broad River and The Appalachian Trail: The Bill and Alice Hart Collection

Your one-stop guide to help facilitate your Archival research and create your Honors projects.

Historical Information

The William A. Hart, Jr. and Alice Huff Hart Western North Carolina Regional Library, known as the Bill and Alice Hart Collection, contains over 1200 monographs and over 25 linear feet of ephemera and related materials. This comprehensive collection of books and materials was acquired by Bill and Alice Hart over 55 years and represents a broad spectrum of written material relating primarily to Western North Carolina. The collection’s geographic focus is on 16 Western North Carolina counties: Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, Mitchell, Swain, Transylvania, Watauga and Yancy counties. Many of the books and pamphlets are extremely rare and represent the Harts’ scholarship and pursuit of specific sources of information as their research delved deep into different aspects of Western North Carolina history and culture.

Video Guide to the Collection by Bill Hart

Collection Description

The collection consists of books, government publications, newspaper articles, research articles, government studies, periodicals, small press publications, book catalogs, bibliographies, maps, pamphlets, advertisements, hiking and trail guides, correspondence, nature guides, VHS tapes, vinyl record albums, compact discs, and assorted ephemera.

Representative Items