Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville
MIT Open Courseware - Comparative Media Studies
MIT's Comparative Media Studies department offers free online course materials for classes examining media technologies and their cultural, social, aesthetic, political, ethical, legal, and economic implications.
Columbia University Journalism Library
Useful links for students and bibliographies of basic resources
Special Libraries Association News Division
For news librarians, news researchers, and "others interested in the role information plays in quality journalism." While primarily for specialists, there are links to Internet resources and Journalism and Library associations. News librarian is a career path for mass communications majors with a graduate degree in Library & Information Science
Graphic Design Resources
This well-organized site offers clear definitions and examples of the anatomy of type, typography styles and a glossary.
Graphic Design from the 1920s and 1930s in Travel Ephemera
This site collects travel brochures of the 1920s and '30s from around the world.
History of Graphic Design
This site was created and is maintained by Nancy Stock-Allen, a former professor of graphic design at Moore College of Art and Design and The University of the Arts.
This interactive site includes a gallery of typographic imagery, history of typography, glossary of relevant terms and a bibliography. The site is maintained by Razorfish, a web design and marketing company.
Pew Research Center's project for excellence in journalism
Newseum's website includes .pdfs of front pages of newspapers worldwide
North Carolina Press Association
NCPA is a non-profit organization devoted to protecting First Amendment freedoms, maintaining high industry standards and promoting the interests of NC newspapers - site includes the NCPA Job Bank
Political Rhetoric Resources
This site includes current and historic rhetoric from politicians, social leaders, and even movies! Transcripts, audio and video files are available.
C-SPAN maintains a wonderful database of videos, candidate profiles and news coverage of the election.
Explores one current news issue per week. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles, plus a pro-con feature, chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.
News and wire services; company, industry and market information; resources for legal and political research, including case law; medical news; government information.
RealClearPolitics maintains an archive of recent political coverage from various networks, including PBS, MSNBC and Fox.
Communication Theory Resources
Maintained by David Gauntlett, a professor of media and communications at the School of Media, Arts and Design, University of Westminster, this site features articles, tips for students and media theory trading cards