A reference source is a compendium of authoritative information, compiled for ease of use.
Reference materials include
Encyclopedia of Applied Electrochemistry by
While electrochemistry deals with the interrelation of electrical and chemical phenomena, applied electrochemistry is the interface between fundamental science and practical applications. It is vitally important for our industrial society of today and even more so for its future. A successful response to global challenges such as securing energy supply, developing energy-efficient and sustainable processes and materials, environmentally friendly technologies, or monitoring physiological processes for health care requires electrochemical research and engineering. The Encyclopedia of Applied Electrochemistry provides an authoritative compilation of entries dealing with all applied aspects of electrochemistry, including basic theoretical concepts, and instrumentation. As a unique, one-stop resource for sound and digested knowledge in this field, the Encyclopedia of Applied Electrochemistry comprises the first applications-oriented interdisciplinary work on the critical technologies underlying key advances such as energy efficiency (e.g. batteries for electric cars, etc.), green and sustainable chemical industries, new materials (corrosion resistant and low-friction), and biomedical sensors.
Encyclopedia of chemistry by
Encyclopedia of Chemistry, Revised Edition is the definitive reference to this vast subject area. Hundreds of chemistry-related entries, thought-provoking essays, leading discoveries, and biographies of notable chemists throughout history provide academic and early college students with the most complete information available.
Encyclopedia of Geochemistry: A Comprehensive Reference Source on the Chemistry of the Earth by
The Encyclopedia is a complete and authoritative reference work for this rapidly evolving field. Over 300 international scientists, each experts in their specialties, have written over 330 separate topics on different aspects of geochemistry including geochemical thermodynamics and kinetics, isotope and organic geochemistry, meteorites and cosmochemistry, the carbon cycle and climate, trace elements, geochemistry of high and low temperature processes, and ore deposition, to name just a few. The geochemical behavior of the elements is described as is the state of the art in analytical geochemistry. Each topic incorporates cross-referencing to related articles, and also has its own reference list to lead the reader to the essential articles within the published literature. The entries are arranged alphabetically, for easy access, and the subject and author indices are comprehensive and extensive. Geochemistry applies chemical techniques and approaches to understanding the Earth and how it works. It touches upon almost every aspect of earth science, ranging from applied topics such as the search for energy and mineral resources, environmental pollution, and climate change to more basic questions such as the Earth's origin and composition, the origin and evolution of life, rock weathering and metamorphism, and the pattern of ocean and mantle circulation. Geochemistry allows us to assign absolute ages to events in Earth's history, to trace the flow of ocean water both now and in the past, trace sediments into subduction zones and arc volcanoes, and trace petroleum to its source rock and ultimately the environment in which it formed. The earliest of evidence of life is provided by chemical and isotopic traces, not fossils, preserved in rocks. Geochemistry has allowed us to unravel the history of the ice ages and thereby deduce their cause. Geochemistry allows us to determine the swings in Earth's surface temperatures during the ice ages, determine the temperatures and pressures at which rocks have been metamorphosed, and the rates at which ancient magma chambers cooled and crystallized.
Encyclopedia of Ionic Liquids by
This encyclopedia is systematic and comprehensive, with detailed descriptions about theory, technology, and industrial applications. This encyclopedia is valuable for students, researchers and industrial players, giving them a quick understanding and overview of ionic liquids in various aspects.
Green Chemistry and Chemical Engineering by
This expanded, revised, and updated second edition of Innovations in Green Chemistry and Green Engineering provides a comprehensive introduction to the state-of-the-art in this key area of sustainability research. Processes that meet the objectives of green chemistry and chemical engineering minimize waste and energy use, and eliminate toxic by-products. Given the ubiquitous nature of products from chemical processes in our lives, green chemistry and chemical engineering are vital components of any sustainable future. Peer-reviewed articles from worldwide experts present the latest developments on topics ranging from organic batteries and green catalytic transformations to green nanoscience and nanotoxicology. Now under the leadership of distinguished Editors from the Chinese Academy of Sciences, this volume in the Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology, Second Edition, is an essential, one-stop reference for professionals in research and industry. The book also fills the need for an authoritative course text in environmental and green chemistry and chemical engineering at the upper-division undergraduate and graduate levels.
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary by
1471 new definitions, 5,236 revised or updated definitions, a new Chemical Abstract Number index, and an update of all trademarks Significant expansion of both chemical and biochemical terms including the addition of biochemical terms in the emerging fields in biology and biological engineering such as synthetic biology, highlighting the merging of the sciences of chemistry and biology Updates and expands the extensive data on chemicals, trade name products, and chemistry-related definitions Adds entries for notable chemists and Nobel Prize winners, equipment and devices, natural forms and minerals, named reactions, and chemical processes. Update on toxicological profiles
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, Volume 1 by
The fifth edition of the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology builds upon the solid foundation of the previous editions, which have proven to be a mainstay for chemists, biochemists, and engineers at academic, industrial, and government institutions since publication of the first edition in 1949. The new edition includes necessary adjustments and modernisation of the content to reflect changes and developments in chemical technology. Presenting a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, properties, manufacturing, and uses; on industrial processes, unit operations in chemical engineering; and on fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. The Encyclopedia describes established technology along with cutting edge topics of interest in the wide field of chemical technology, whilst uniquely providing the necessary perspective and insight into pertinent aspects, rather than merely presenting information. * Set begins publication in March 2004 * Over 1000 articles in 27 volumes * More than 600 new or updated articles Reviews from the previous edition: "The most indispensable reference in the English language on all aspects of chemical technology...the best reference of its kind". Chemical Engineering News, 1992 "Overall, ECT is well written and cleanly edited, and no library claiming to be a useful resource for chemical engineering professionals should be without it." Nicholas Basta, Chemical Engineering, December 1992
Organic Chemist's Desk Reference by
Launched in 1995 as a companion to the Dictionary of Organic Compounds, the Organic Chemist's Desk Reference has been essential reading for laboratory chemists who need a succinct guide to the 'nuts and bolts' of organic chemistry -- the literature, nomenclature, stereochemistry, spectroscopy, hazard information, and laboratory data. This third edition reflects changes in the dissemination of chemical information, revisions to chemical nomenclature, and the adoption of new techniques in NMR spectroscopy, which have taken place since publication of the last edition in 2011. Organic chemistry embraces many other disciplines -- from material sciences to molecular biology -- whose practitioners will benefit from the comprehensive but concise information brought together in this book. Extensively revised and updated, this new edition contains the very latest data that chemists need access to for experimentation and research.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by
The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, published since 1914, is one of the most important data reference books used by scientists worldwide. The Handbook includes a wide variety of detailed scientific information, serving as a ready-reference book of chemical and physical data. The UNCA library owns the 2015/2016 edition, while more recent editions can be ordered from the WCU library via ABC Express.
Forensic Chemistry Handbook by
A concise, robust introduction to the various topics covered by the discipline of forensic chemistry The Forensic Chemistry Handbook focuses on topics in each of the major chemistry-related areas of forensic science. With chapter authors that span the forensic chemistry field, this book exposes readers to the state of the art on subjects such as serology (including blood, semen, and saliva), DNA/molecular biology, explosives and ballistics, toxicology, pharmacology, instrumental analysis, arson investigation, and various other types of chemical residue analysis. In addition, the Forensic Chemistry Handbook: Covers forensic chemistry in a clear, concise, and authoritative way Brings together in one volume the key topics in forensics where chemistry plays an important role, such as blood analysis, drug analysis, urine analysis, and DNA analysis Explains how to use analytical instruments to analyze crime scene evidence Contains numerous charts, illustrations, graphs, and tables to give quick access to pertinent information Media focus on high-profile trials like those of Scott Peterson or Kobe Bryant have peaked a growing interest in the fascinating subject of forensic chemistry. For those readers who want to understand the mechanisms of reactions used in laboratories to piece together crime scenes--and to fully grasp the chemistry behind it--this book is a must-have.
Handbook of Computational Chemistry by
The role the Handbook of Computational Chemistry is threefold. It is primarily intended to be used as a guide that navigates the user through the plethora of computational methods currently in use; it explains their limitations and advantages; and it provides various examples of their important and varied applications. This reference work is presented in three volumes. Volume I introduces the different methods used in computational chemistry. Basic assumptions common to the majority of computational methods based on molecular, quantum, or statistical mechanics are outlined and special attention is paid to the limits of their applicability. Volume II portrays the applications of computational methods to model systems and discusses in detail molecular structures, the modelling of various properties of molecules and chemical reactions. Both ground and excited states properties are covered in the gas phase as well as in solution. This volume also describes Nanomaterials and covers topics such as clusters, periodic, and nano systems. Special emphasis is placed on the environmental effects of nanostructures. Volume III is devoted to the important class of Biomolecules. Useful models of biological systems considered by computational chemists are provided and RNA, DNA and proteins are discussed in detail. This volume presents examples of calcualtions of their properties and interactions and reveals the role of solvents in biologically important reactions as well as the structure function relationship of various classes of Biomolecules.
Handbook of Food Chemistry by
This handbook is intended to be a comprehensive reference for the various chemical aspects of foods and food products. Apart from the traditional knowledge, this book covers the most recent research and development of food chemistry in the areas of functional foods and nutraceuticals, organic and genetically modified foods, nonthermal food processing and molecular gastronomy, as well as nanotechnology. This handbook contains both the basic and advanced chemistry both for food research and its practical applications in various food related industries and businesses. This book is appropriate for undergraduates and postgraduates in the academics and professionals from the various disciplines and industries who are interested in applying knowledge of food chemistry in their respective fields.
Handbook of Industrial Chemistry and Biotechnology by
Substantially revising and updating the classic reference in the field, this handbook offers a valuable overview and myriad details on current chemical processes, products, and practices. No other source offers as much data on the chemistry, engineering, economics, and infrastructure of the industry. The Handbook serves a spectrum of individuals, from those who are directly involved in the chemical industry to others in related industries and activities. It provides not only the underlying science and technology for important industry sectors, but also broad coverage of critical supporting topics. Industrial processes and products can be much enhanced through observing the tenets and applying the methodologies found in chapters on Green Engineering and Chemistry (specifically, biomass conversion), Practical Catalysis, and Environmental Measurements; as well as expanded treatment of Safety, chemistry plant security, and Emergency Preparedness. Understanding these factors allows them to be part of the total process and helps achieve optimum results in, for example, process development, review, and modification. Important topics in the energy field, namely nuclear, coal, natural gas, and petroleum, are covered in individual chapters. Other new chapters include energy conversion, energy storage, emerging nanoscience and technology. Updated sections include more material on biomass conversion, as well as three chapters covering biotechnology topics, namely, Industrial Biotechnology, Industrial Enzymes, and Industrial Production of Therapeutic Proteins.
Handbook of Nuclear Chemistry by
This revised and extended 6 volume handbook set is the most comprehensive and voluminous reference work of its kind in the field of nuclear chemistry. The Handbook set covers all of the chemical aspects of nuclear science starting from the physical basics and including such diverse areas as the chemistry of transactinides and exotic atoms as well as radioactive waste management and radiopharmaceutical chemistry relevant to nuclear medicine. The nuclear methods of the investigation of chemical structure also receive ample space and attention. The international team of authors consists of scores of world-renowned experts - nuclear chemists, radiopharmaceutical chemists and physicists - from Europe, USA, and Asia. The Handbook set is an invaluable reference for nuclear scientists, biologists, chemists, physicists, physicians practicing nuclear medicine, graduate students and teachers - virtually all who are involved in the chemical and radiopharmaceutical aspects of nuclear science. The Handbook set also provides further reading via the rich selection of references.
Handbook of Relativistic Quantum Chemistry by
This handbook focuses on the foundations of relativistic quantum mechanics and addresses a number of fundamental issues never covered before in a book. For instance: How can many-body theory be combined with quantum electrodynamics? How can quantum electrodynamics be interfaced with relativistic quantum chemistry? What is the most appropriate relativistic many-electron Hamiltonian? How can we achieve relativistic explicit correlation? How can we formulate relativistic properties? - just to name a few. Since relativistic quantum chemistry is an integral component of computational chemistry, this handbook also supplements the "Handbook of Computational Chemistry". Generally speaking, it aims to establish the 'big picture' of relativistic molecular quantum mechanics as the union of quantum electrodynamics and relativistic quantum chemistry. Accordingly, it provides an accessible introduction for readers new to the field, presents advanced methodologies for experts, and discusses possible future perspectives, helping readers understand when/how to apply/develop the methodologies.