Ramsey Library at UNC Asheville: Women's Studies: Film and Images

Library Videos

Library Catalog Video/DVD Search
WorldCat
Search for holdings beyond our library network. Request selected titles via Interlibrary Loan.

PBS Video Collection
Over 400 streaming videos from PBS

Online Video

PBS Video Collection
Over 400 streaming videos from PBS
Films on Demand
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.

TEDTalk by Alice Dreger

from ted.com

Image Archives

ARTstor
Collections of art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. It includes architecture, painting, photography, prints, drawings, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects.

Library of Congress - Online Collections
The Library of Congress makes an enormous variety of resources available online, including books, newspapers, films, images, audio recordings, and many more. Please check copyright information for individual resources.
Wikimedia Commons
Archive of public domain images.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Charges a per image usage fee even for public domain material
Images from the History of Medicine (NLM)
Check individual image copyright notes
Creative Commons
Search for Creative Commons licensed images and other content
Life Photo Archive
Archive of photographs from Life Magazine. Includes many famous and infamous women and includes the work of important women photographers.

Free Video Search Tools and Online Archives

Internet Movie Database (IMDb)
Library of Congress - Online Film and Video Collections
The Library of Congress makes a wide variety of films and videos available online, encompassing all eras of film history from the 1800s to modern day. Please check copyright information for individual resources.
Internet Archive - Culture and Academic Films
Folkstreams.net

Women's Studies Archive

Women's Studies in Digital Archives

"The purpose of Women's Studies in Digital Archives is to provide access to primary source materials for women's studies within digital archives. Although not comprehensive, it is a starting point for discovering some of the wonderful resources for women's studies that have only recently become widely available with the practice of digitizing select primary source materials from special collections."

ACT-UP!

ACT-UP poster from the NYPL Digital Gallery LGBT and HIV/AIDS Activist Collections