Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville

Education K - 12: Curriculum Materials

A guide to Ramsey Library resources for education students

Library Catalog

Search our Catalog for Books, Journals, DVDs and more


Teaching with Trade Books

Integrating literature in the content areas

Where can you find juvenile books about children's lives in Colonial America for a social studies class?

Need books about the Civil Rights Movement for a 9th grade history lesson?

You're teaching a science unit and would like to integrate literature, maybe poems.  How do you find appropriate titles?

Identify books for lessons by searching electronic sources (library catalog, website) and printed thematic guides

See the Children's Literature Library Guide for a list of thematic guides and other tips for integrating juvenile literature into lessons.

Library Resources

The Curriculum Materials Collection (CMC) is located on the lower floor near the Juvenile Literature collection.  The CMC maintains a collection of textbooks adopted by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction.  Textbooks are collected for the grades and subject areas for which the UNCA Education Department offers teacher licensure.  The collection includes teacher editions, student editions, classroom activity resources and some manipulatives. The location designation for the collection is "CUR." Textbooks are available for check out.

Searching the catalog:

To identify curriculum textbooks search the library catalog by subject or keyword and then "modify search" results to location "UNCA Curriculum."

 Browsing the collection:

Texts are grouped by grade level and then given a classification number.

Elementary (Grades  K-5) subjects are classed CUR 02 - CUR 20.

Examples:
      CUR 08 - Elementary Mathematics
      CUR 12 - Elementary Reading
      CUR 14 - Elementary Science
      CUR 16 - Elementary Social Studies

Secondary (Grades 6-12) subjects are classed CUR 20 - CUR 99.

Examples:
      CUR 50 - Foreign Languages
      CUR 61 - English
      CUR 70 - Mathematics

 

Key Web Sites

North Carolina Standard Course of Study

The Standard Course of Study includes the curriculum that should be made available to every child in North Carolina's public schools.

Textbook Adoption Services

This site provides information about the statewide textbook adoption process in North Carolina and includes links to the current list of adopted texts.