Ramsey Library at UNC Asheville: Latinx y Latin American Studies: Reference

Using Reference Resources

A reference source is a compendium of authoritative information, compiled for ease of use.

Reference materials include

Reference materials may be found on our main floor to the left of the Research Services Desk as well as online.

UNdata
Online access to all UN statistical databases. United Nations Statistics Division
WHO Global Health Observatory (GHO) data

The World Bank: Data
Provides a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe. Contains World Development Indicators (WDI), Global Development Finance (GDF), Africa Development Indicators (ADI), and Global Economic Monitor (GEM).

UN FAO Statistics
OECD Factbook
CIA World Factbook
World Resource Institute Data Lab
Searchable databases covering statistics on population, health, education, literacy, transportation, energy access, and water and sanitation for countries around the world.
Latin America and the Caribbean : selected economic and social data
ELDIS Country Profiles
Online documents organized by country.
Pew Hispanic Center
Information on Latino populations in America.
PubMed
Access to biomedical literature, life science journals, and online books.

Gale Encyclopedia of Latin American History & Culture
Provides a multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. 5,700+ entries cover cultural issues and include numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.

Country Studies
Historical data and analysis of the social, economic, political, and national security systems of the world's countries
Historical Statistics of the United States
A standard source for the quantitative facts of American history covering topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America. Download, manipulate and customize data.
Credo Reference
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of titles covering everything from accounting to zoology
Cambridge Histories Online (CHO)
Contains more than 350 volumes and covers more than 10 subject areas.