Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville

ENVR 360: Environmental Restoration - Dr. David Gillette - Spring 2020: Changing Land Use Effects

Resources from UNCA's Special Collections used in ENVR 360

Changing Land Use Effects

Carolina Mountain Club Archive

  • There is a plethora of information in this collection related to your topic.  I would suggest “Ctrl + f” on the finding aid page and then searching the terms: “acquisition” “trail” “plan” and “conservation”

Papers of Congressman Roy Arthur Taylor

  • This collection includes information on the acquisition, boundaries, maintenance, and use of the national park system and includes congressional bills, letters, maps, photographs, and proposals

Walter Julius Damtoft Collection

  • Damtoft was the first industrial forester in the United States and was a graduate of Yale Forest School and associated with Biltmore Forestry School- who created the “Cradle of Forestry” in WNC.  This collection has an immense amount of information on the Weeks Law and early material on forestry from 1900-1970; this would enable a researcher to paint a very illustrative picture of changing land usage in regards to National Forests in WNC

Western North Carolina Tomorrow Position Papers

  • This is only 1 folder of material, and you can see it online here, but I believe it to be beneficial because of the content regarding conservation and development of natural resources in WNC

Jerome Dykeman Papers

  • Containing correspondence regarding his advocacy for cessation of logging in a tract of land near the summit of Mt. Mitchell and for the creation of a park adjacent to the Blue Ridge Parkway; various editorials about the environmental advocacy process.

Other Sources

Media