Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville
If you are looking for information about specific companies, you can search the catalog for resources pertaining to their business. You can search by subject or keyword. Here are a few examples:
Search the Web for Companies
Coverage of business conditions, trends, corporate strategies and tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information, and a wide variety of other topics, including advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Full text for more than 600 business publications and citations with abstracts to over 1,800 business titles, with over 350 titles outside the U.S. Includes ABI/Inform Trade & Industry, ABI/Inform Dateline, and ABI/Inform Globa
The Economic Census consists of several series of publications on specific sectors of the economy. Issued in years ending in "2" and "7." The Economic Census provides a detailed portrait of the United States economy every five years.
News and wire services; company, industry and market information; resources for legal and political research, including case law; medical news; government information
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
The NAICS (formerly SIC) is the standard that federal agencies use to classify businesses. You may use the NAICS code in order to search some web and printed industry directories. You can access the NAICS online or use the print copy in the library.
Print Copy: REFERENCE HF1042 .N67 2007
Small Business Profiles
Available online and in print, this resource provides start-up information for the new small business owner.
Print Copy: REFERENCE HD62.7 .S53 1994
Standard and Poor
Standard and Poor is the corporate author of a reference series on finance and corporations. Many of these publications are available through the library catalog online and in print.
Statistics of U. S. Businesses
Provides business data by geographical location, industry (NAICS code), enterprise employment, and receipt size.
SEC's Edgar Database
The Securities and Exchange Commission offers public access to 10-K reports and realted information filed with them. EDGAR is an acronym for "the Electronic Data
Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system."
Though this webpage provides directory information only, it is a quick way to build a list of a list of companies by geographic area and type of business. Each entry is accompanied by a map.
ThomasNet, powered by the classic Thomas Registry, is a directory of manufacturers, distributors, and service providers. The website requires registration, but it is free.
Print Resources to Consider