Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville
Recommended Rhetoric and Composition Databases
Depending on your topic, some of the following databases will be more useful than others. Use the descriptions underneath each database to gauge if it is likely to fit your topic. Consider also that many topics will fall into other subject databases, such as those relating to psychology or business, in which case you will want to explore those databases as well. Find databases by subject from this page, using the drop down menu on the left side. Not sure where to start or still in the brainstorming stage? A good place to begin is usually ProQuest Central or our other general databases.
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Scholarly journal archive containing full text journals in a broad array of disciplines.
Covers scholarly research on English, American, and world literature, folklore, languages, and linguistics. 1926+
Political Science Complete
Provides full text for over 400 publications, and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 800 journals. Features more than 165 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 27,000 full text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
ProQuest Political Science
Political science and international relations journals, dissertations and working papers on topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy.
Covers communications-related scholarly journals and books in the areas of human communication studies, speech communication, communication history, rhetoric, journalism, mass communication and new media.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
Literature Online (LION)
Library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 150 full-text literature journals, and other criticism and reference resources.
All Language and Literature Databases at Ramsey Library