The Global Humanities Reader is a collaboratively edited collection of primary sources with student-centered support features. It serves as the core curriculum of the University of North Carolina Asheville’s almost-sixty-year-old interdisciplinary Humanities Program. Its three volumes--Engaging Ancient Worlds and Perspectives (Volume 1), Engaging Premodern Worlds and Perspectives (Volume 2), and Engaging Modern Worlds and Perspectives (Volume 3)--offer accessible ways to explore facets of human subjectivity and interconnectedness across cultures, times, and places. In highlighting the struggles and resilient strategies for surviving and thriving from multiple perspectives and positionalities, and through diverse voices, these volumes course correct from humanities textbooks that remain Western-centric.
One of the main features of the The Global Humanities Reader is a sustained and nuanced focus on cultivating the ability to ask questions--to inquire--while enhancing culturally aware, reflective, and interdisciplinary engagements with the materials. The editorial team created a thoroughly interactive text with the following unique features that work together to actualize student success:
· Cross-cultural historical introductions to each volume
· Comprehensive and source-specific timelines highlighting periods, events, and people around the world
· An introduction for each source with bolded key terms and questions to facilitate active engagement
· Primed and Ready questions (PARs)--questions just before and after a reading that activate students’ own knowledge and skills
· Inquiry Corner--questions consisting of four types: Content, Comparative, Critical, and Connection
· Beyond the Classroom--explore how ideas discussed in sources can apply to broader social contexts, such as job, career, project teams or professional communities
· Glossary of Tags--topical ‘hubs’ that point to exciting new connections across multiple sources
These volumes reflect the central role of Humanities in deepening an empathic understanding of human experience and cultivating culturally appropriate and community-centered problem-solving skills that help us flourish as global and local citizens.
Interested in how UNCA's Global Humanities Readers came to be? Please read the story of their creation here:
UNC ASHEVILLE RE-IMAGINES THE HUMANITIES CORE A Data-Driven, Student-Centered and Community-Led Curriculum Revision that Goes Beyond Traditional Textbooks
UNC Asheville's Global Humanities Readers for our Humanities 124 and Humanities 214 classes are available as ebooks in Ramsey Library's Home Grown Ebooks Collection database. Click on the database and then search for 'Global Humanities Reader' to find all volumes. Off campus users will need to authenticate using their UNCA credentials.
These direct links will also work (requires UNCA authentication):
Alternative access from library.unca.edu: click on 'Online Resources' (right-hand side), scroll down to Home Grown Ebooks Collection, and then search 'Global Humanities Reader.' UNCA authentication required.
Access for students of North Carolina's other educational institutions (including ASU, WCU, other UNC System Schools, K-12 schools, community colleges, independent colleges and universities): go to your institution's library webpage and look for either NCLive or the Home Grown Ebooks Collection from their list of subscribed library databases. This will route you to the correct authentication portal to provide full-text access. If NCLive, you will find a link to Home Grown Ebooks from the nclive.org/browse page. Once there, search for 'Global Humanities Reader' for access to both volumes. For help, please contact your institution's library staff or see nclive.org/help.
Access for North Carolina Public Library Members: visit the Home Grown Ebooks Collection database from nclive.org/browse and search for 'Global Humanities Reader' to find both volumes. You will need to authenticate using your current NC public library card credentials. For assistance please contact staff at your public library or see nclive.org/help.
All users are encouraged to create a free Biblioboard account in the Home Grown Ebooks Collection in order to save bookmarks, take notes, and save the Global Humanities Readers as favorites (making it easier to find them the next time you log in).
If you have issues or questions accessing these ebooks, please chat with a librarian directly at library.unca.edu or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org