Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville

Masters of Liberal Arts and Sciences (MLAS): Capstone Project Preparation

MLAS Selected List of Research Papers

All students in the MLAS program are required to write a capstone paper or to produce a capstone project.  These are written on a variety of topics and fulfill the program requirement for graduation.  Ramsey Library Special Collections holds a few bound volumes of MLAS capstone projects.  Click here to see a list of MLAS papers and projects available in Special Collections.

MLAS Capstone Project Guidelines

MLAS capstone requirements are listed on the MLAS website.

UNCA Writing Center

Make an appointment with the UNCA Writing Center to get help with fomatting and developing your paper.

Style Guides & Research Manuals

Style Manuals

The following manuals provide guidelines for formatting papers and citing sources.

APA Publication Manual - American Psychological Association
Call Number - Ref Desk BF76.7 .P83 2010
Website:  APA.org

Chicago Manual of Style - University of Chicago Press
Call Number - Ref Desk Z253 .C57

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers - Joseph Gibaldi
Call Number - Ref Desk LB2369 .G53 2009

Scientific Style and Format: the CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers
Call Number - GEN T11 .S386 2006

General Citation Guides
The following guides provide citation examples for APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.

Form and Style: research papers, reports, theses  - Carole Slade
Call Number - Ref Desk LB2369.C3

Writer's Reference - Diane Hacker
Call Number -  Ref Desk PE1408 .H2778 2007

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses and Dissertations - Kate Turabian
Call Number - Ref Desk LB2369 .T8 2007

Research/Preparation Manuals

Approaches to Qualitative Research : a Reader on Theory and Practice
Call Number -  UNCA H62 .A627 2004

Guide To Writing Empirical Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
Call Number - UNCA LB2369 .G27

Successful Dissertations and Theses: a Guide to Graduate Student Research from Proposal to Completion
Call Number - UNCA LB2369.M32

Theses and Dissertations: a Guide to Planning, Research, and Writing
Call Number - WCU LB2369 .T458  (available on ABC Express)

Online Guides

Online Writing Centers and citation help

Duke University Libraries Guide to Citing Sources

Purdue University OWL (Online Writing Lab)

UC Berkeley Library Style Sheets for citing sources

Citing Medicine (National Library of Medicine)

Citation Tools

Many of our library databases such as Ebsco and Proquest will generate a citation or a list of citations during your search session.  Look for the "cite this" or "cite this article" option when viewing a single citation or a list of marked citations.

Citation Management

Zotero is a bibliographic management tool that works with Firefox. It recognizes and extracts bibliographic information from websites, library catalogs, and databases, enabling you to easily save, organize, and create bibliographies of the sources you collect.  Click here to see a research guide for using Zotero.