Skip to Main Content Ramsey Library UNC Asheville

Masters of Liberal Arts and Sciences (MLAS): Reference

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Using Reference Resources

A reference source is a compendium of authoritative information, compiled for ease of use.

Reference materials include

subject or general encyclopedias, dictionaries and thesauri
biographical compilations
maps

Reference materials may be found on our main floor to the left of the Research Services Desk as well as online.

Library Online Reference Resources

Good places to start:

Credo Reference
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of titles covering everything from accounting to zoology
Gale Virtual Reference Library
30 Reference books and Encyclopedias in Religion, History, Philosophy, and more.
Oxford Reference
Resource discontinued as of 12/31/2017.
Please contact libref@unca.edu if you need help accessing alternate resources.
CQ Researcher
Covering today's most important issues and controversial subjects. Weekly issue covers an in-depth, single topic report featuring more than 12,000 words of text and extensive bibliographies.
Oxford English Dictionary
The standard dictionary of the English language. Includes a history of individual words along with their derivation and usage examples.

Other Online Library Reference Databases:

Key Reference Titles

Located in our Reference area

American National Biography REF CT213 .A68 1999

Dictionary of Art REF N31 .D5 1996

Encyclopedia of Religion REF BL31 .E46 2005

Encyclopedia of the Enlightment REF B802 .E53

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance REF CB361 .E52 1999

Encyclopedia of World Cultures GN307 .E53

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences

REF H40 .A2 I5 2008

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas REF CB9 .N49 2005

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

REF DA28 .O95 2004

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy REF B51 .R68