Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville

African American Studies: Academic/Research/museums

a guide to resources

Comprehensive Sites

 

 Oxford African American Studies Center

Contains 7,500 articles from core reference works, primary sources, photographs, maps and charts and tables
Encyclopedia Britannica Guide to Black History 
Examines nearly 400 years of history and includes numerous links to other sites.

Key Sites

The African-American Mosaic -  A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture

American Memory Historical Collections - The Library of Congress National Digital Library program.
This site includes multimedia collections, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, primary resources, a much more.  Browse the African American History Collection.

Africans in America - A major collection of images, documents, stories and commentaries on American's journey through slavery.

The Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History - is located in the Cultural Center of the U.S. city of Detroit, Michigan. Founded in 1965, it holds the world's largest permanent exhibit on African American culture.

Documenting the American South - Provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history.

National Museum of African American History and Culture - Construction of the NMAAHC is scheduled to begin on the Washington Mall in 2012 and completed in 2015. Until then, visit Gallery collections located on the second floor of the National Museum of American History.

National Civil Rights Museum - Located in the Lorraine Motel, scene of the assassination of Dr. Martin Luther Ling, Jr.

Our Shared History - This National Parks Service (NPS) page provides links to online tours of NPS sites dedicated to the preservation of African American heritage.

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture - Provides links to digital visual resources of African Americans in the 19th century and to major online exhibitions.