Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville
Using Reference Resources
A reference source is a compendium of authoritative information, compiled for ease of use.
Reference materials include
- subject or general encyclopedias, dictionaries and thesauri
- biographical compilations
Reference materials may be found on our main floor to the left of the Research Services Desk as well as online.
The African American Male: An Annotated Bibliography. Compiled by Jacob U. Gordon. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1999. REF E185.86 .B14
Afro-American Nationalism: An Annotated Bibliography of Militant Separatist and Nationalist Literature. / Agustina Herod. New York: Garland, 1986. REF E185.625
Black White Relations in American History: An Annotated Bibliography. / Leslie Tischauser.Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 1998. REF E185.61 .B1 T53
Blacks in the American West and Beyond - America, Canada, and Mexico: A Selectively Annotated Bibliography. /George June. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2000. REF E185.925 .B1 J86
Harvard Guide to African-American History. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2001. REF E185 .H326 2001
Racism in Contemporary America. / Meyers Weinberg. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1995. REF E185.61 B19 1996
The African-American Male by
The plight of the Black male in American society has been well-documented by scholars and practitioners. Although Black males represent only 6 percent of the American population, they represent about 40 percent of the prison population; the number of Black males in prison and jail exceeds the number of Black males in higher education. The homicide rates for Black males were 72.5 percent per 100,000, nearly eight times higher than for White males. This bibliographic volume explores the extent to which American academia has addressed these problems. It will be an invaluable resource for researchers as well as practitioners in social service programs. In addition to more than 400 annotated publications, the book includes a selected list of works on the African American male and a compilation of doctoral dissertations. This publication will serve as a reference in public as well as academic libraries, human service agencies, government policymaking agencies, and in academic courses in gender and ethnic studies, criminal justice, and social psychology.
Call Number: E185.86 .B14 1999
Publication Date: 1999-07-30
Black Genesis by
Designed with both the novice and the professional researcher in mind, this text provides reference resources and introduces a methodology specific to investigating African-American genealogy. In the second edition, information has been reorganized by state. Within each state are listings for resources such as state archives, census records, military records, newspapers, and manuscript collections.
Call Number: CS21 .R57 2003
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Blacks in the American West and Beyond--America, Canada, and Mexico by
Almost a century before their arrival in the English New World, Blacks appeared alongside the Spanish in what is now the American West. Through their families, communities, and institutions, these Western Blacks left behind a long history, which is just now beginning to receive systematic scholarly treatment. Comprehensively indexing a variety of research materials on Blacks in the North American West, Junne offers an invaluable navigational tool for students of American and African-American history. Entries are organized both geographically and topically, and cover a broad range of subjects including cross-cultural interaction, health, art, and law. Contains a complete compilation of African-American newspapers.
Call Number: E185.925.B1 J86 2000
Publication Date: 2000-05-30
The Harvard Guide to African-American History by
This landmark guide covers research into every aspect of African-American life and work, offering a compendium of information and interpretation about almost 400 years of African-Americans' experiences as an ethnic group and as Americans. The first part of the Guide contains 12 essays on historical research aids, from traditional archival and reference materials to the Internet. The second and largest part presents comprehensive and chronological bibliographies, prepared by John Thornton, Peter H. Wood, Gary B. Nash, Stephanie Shaw, Richard J. M. Blackett, Eric Foner, Leon F. Litwack, Joe W. Trotter, Jeffrey Conrad Stewart, Nancy L. Grant, Darlene Clark Hine, Clayborne Carson, John H. Bracey, Adam Biggs, and Corey Walker. The third part contains listings of resources on the special subjects of women, prepared by Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham; geographical areas; and autobiography and biography, prepared by Randall K. Burkett, Leon F. Litwack, and Richard Newman. A companion CD-ROM packaged with the book makes more than 15,000 bibliography entries available for computer searching.
Call Number: E185 .H326 2001
Publication Date: 2001-06-25
Racism : a selected bibliography by
Of all mankinds' vices, racism is one of the most pervasive and stubborn. Success in overcoming racism has been achieved from time to time, but victories have been limited thus far because mankind has focused on personal economic gain or power grabs ignoring generosity of the soul. This bibliography brings together the literature.
Call Number: HT1521.B1 W52 2005
Publication Date: 2005-07-01
Racism in Contemporary America by
Racism in Contemporary America is the largest and most up-to-date bibliography available on current research on the topic. It has been compiled by award-winning researcher Meyer Weinberg, who has spent many years writing and researching contemporary and historical aspects of racism. Almost 15,000 entries to books, articles, dissertations, and other materials are organized under 87 subject-headings. In addition, there are author and ethnic-racial indexes. Several aids help the researcher access the materials included. In addition to the subject organization of the bibliography, entries are annotated whenever the title is not self-explanatory. An author index is followed by an ethnic-racial index which makes it convenient to follow a single group through any or all the subject headings. This is a source book for the serious study of America's most enduring problem; as such it will be of value to students and researchers at all levels and in most disciplines.
Call Number: E185.61 B19 1996
Publication Date: 1996-05-23
Readers’ advisory resource covering fiction, nonfiction, and audiobook recommendations. The database includes numerous books by and about African American people, which can be sorted by subject matter, age range, and awards given.
Oxford African American Studies Center
Documents the field of African American Studies and Africana Studies with more than 8,000 articles, hundreds of primary source documents, images, maps, and charts and tables, covering Arts and Leisure, Business and Economics, Education and Academia, Government and Politics, History, Religion and Spirituality, and Science and Medicine.
Something About the Author Online
Something About the Author Online provides comprehensive access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is a deep source on authors and literature for young people. This resource includes many African American authors who write for children and teens.