Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville

African American Studies: Handbooks, Encyclopedias, Manuals

a guide to resources

CREDO Reference Online

Credo Reference

Using Reference Resources

A reference source is a compendium of authoritative information, compiled for ease of use.

Reference materials include

  • subject or general encyclopedias, dictionaries and thesauri 
  • statistics
  • biographical compilations
  • maps
Reference materials may be found on our main floor to the left of the Research Services Desk as well as online.

Scan-to-email

Reference materials are for library use only.  Scan-to-email and copy machines are available.  See the research desk for more information.

Printed Reference Titles

African America: Portrait of a people  REF E185.96 .88

Chronology of African American History: Significant Events and People from 1619 to the Present  REF E185 .H64

Civil Rights in the United States   REF E184.A1 C47
A two volume compendium of latest scholarship on civil rights and the civil rights struggle in the United States.

Encyclopedia of African American Society 2005. REF E185.E546

Encyclopedia of Black Studies  2005. REF E185.E554

Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America REF E185 .E544 1998 (3 volumes)

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History  REF E185 .E54 1998 (5 volumes)

Hippocrene Guide to the Underground Railroad 1994. REF E450 .B65 1994 

Historic Landmarks of Black America  REF E185.53 .A1 C36 1991

Historical Statistics of Black America  REF E 185 .H543 

Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery  REF HT861 .M24 1998

My Soul is a Witness: A Chronology of the Civil Rights Era REF E185.69 .C697 2000

North Carolina Freedman’s Savings & Trust Company Records REF E185.96 .N67 1992

Organizing Black America: An Encyclopedia of African American Associations   REF E 185.074  2001

Pan-African Chronology: A Comprehensive Reference to the Black Quest for Freedom in Africa, the Americas, Europe, and Asia   REF E185.18 .J46 1998 

Runaway Slave Advertisements: A Documentary History from the 1730's to 1790  REF E446 .W73 1983

The Timetables of African-American History: A Chronology of the Most Important People and Events in African American History / Sharon Harley.  New York: Simon & Schuster, 1995.  REF E185 .H295 1995