Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville
See the research resource Classics.
See also in the Library Catalog (Books - Search by title):
BLACKWELL COMPANIONS TO THE ANCIENT WORLD titles
|Companion to the Ancient Greek Language
|Companion to Horace
|Companion to Byzantium
|Companion to Hellenistic literature
|Companion to Vergil's AENEID and its traditions
|Companion to Ancient Egypt / v.1 and v.2
|Companion to Ancient Macedonia
|A Companion to Families in the Greek and Roman Worlds
|A Companion to the Punic Wars
|Ancient Egyptian Tombs the Culture of Life and Death
|A Companion to Greek Mythology, 2011
|A Companion to the Latin Language. 2011
|A Companion to Greek Art, 2011 (forthcoming)
Archaeology Maps and Time Line
A Universtiy of Texas site containing excellent visual tools for locating major sites and activity in the discipline.
Online access to the descriptions of archival collections held around the world. (OCLC)
Art & Architecture Source
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Provides access to over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images.
- Perseus Digital Library
Digital library that covers popular texts , art and archeology and online exhibits pertaining to ancient Greece and Rome.
- Diotima: Women and Gender in the Ancient World
Examines woman's role in class, religion, childhood, learning, marriage, family, the state, and work in the ancient world.
- Medicina Antiqua
Website includes essays on Medicine in the Graeco-Roman work and links to other sources about the subject.
- The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Timeline of Art History
What Happened when.
- Hellenic History on the Internet
Covers Prehistory, Antiquity, Byzantium, Ottoman, and Modern periods.
- Ancient Greece at the British Museum
covers the history of ancient Greece from the Acropolis to war.
- Ancient Greece
Examines Archeology, History, Culture, Maps, Architecture, Museums and has a timeline.
- The Ancient Greek World
A Virtual Gallery from the University of Pennsylvania of the ancient Greek World.
- Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
This website, provided by Paul Halsall of Fordham University for educational use, has many historical texts from Herodotus to the Pelopponesian wars.
- Byzantium: The Byzantine Studies Page
Includes online sources, articles and a gallery.