Ramsey Library at UNC Asheville: Art: Brazil

WorldCat Search

BRAZILIAN ART & ARTISTS

Wikipedia - Brazilian Art
Introductory article about the arts of Brazil with numerous linked-out pages

Artbr - Artes Plásticas,
a contemporary arts portal for Brazil.

Art Bonobo
An art portal and virtual gallery.

Ileana Frometa Grillo Venezuelan artist (See:

Ileana Frometa Grillo on The IDEA #5 "Echoes of Brazil" blog

Wikipedia Article on Brazilian Art and Artists
Artcyclopedia - Brazilian Artists
A comprehensive list of contemporary artists in Brazil
Universes in Universe - List of Brazilian Artists
Galleries, Exhibits and Artists of Brazil
Universes in Universe

Brazil - Overview

JSTOR
Scholarly journal archive containing full text journals in a broad array of disciplines.
Oxford Academic
Access to over 20,000 books and 500 journals in full text from Oxford University Press and other university presses. This multidisciplinary collection includes both classic and newly-published works and is especially strong in the areas of arts and humanities, law, medicine and health, science and mathematics, and the social sciences.
Art Full Text
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Provides access to over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images.
Humanities International Complete
Includes major journals in the humanities' studies of literature, history, philosophy, archaeology, classics, performing arts, and religion. The collection includes full text for more than 1,200 journals and citations to over 2.9 million article and book records, including peer-reviewed, scholarly, and popular perspectives. Coverage includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.

Voice of the Shuttle. Extensive Web site for humanities research.

STATISTICS:

United Nations Statistics Division. Official access point to international statistical data compiled by the UN and other international agencies. Offers free access to much data, including the Demographic Yearbook.

The World Factbook. U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.

REFERENCE ENCYCLOPEDIAS, GUIDES and DICTIONARIES:

Envisioning Brazil : a guide to Brazilian studies in the United States, 1945-2003
17 essays commissioned by the Brazilian embassy in 1999 and presented at a seminar there in 2000, the collection is aimed to promote Brazil studies, the volume is an evaluation of US scholarship in the field since 1945. Essays describe developments in research and teaching; specific research in fields of Portuguese, literature, history, anthropology, political science, sociology, international relations, and geography ...
UNCA REFERENCE F2520.7 .E5813 2005

To review the history of the country search the WORLDCAT catalog for "Brazil" and search the WNCLN catalog and limit to UNCA. To locate specific information on art, demographics, culture, maps, politics, history, etc., search for those combined entries in our catalog. For example:

Brazil and culture
Brazil and history
Brazil and map
Brazil and art

DATABASES:

Latin American Links

LATIN AMERICAN NETWORK INFORMATION CENTER
Latin American Art sources
http://lanic.utexas.edu/la/region/art/

Current exhibition of Latin American Art:
Weatherspoon Art Museum (UNC Greensboro)
http://weatherspoon.uncg.edu
/exhibitions/default.asp

FAMSI Foundation for the Advancement
of Mesoamerican Studies, Inc.
http://www.famsi.org/

Julia P. Herzberg "Leandro Katz:
A Decade of Work" 1995
http://www.leandrokatz.com/Pages
/JuliaHerzberg.html

History of Science in Latin America
and the Caribbean: A digital archive
of primary sources, web links, and
references for students and professors
http://www.hoslac.org/

Caribbean Art World Magazine
http://www.cawmagazine.com/index.php