Ramsey Library at UNC Asheville: African American Studies: Journal Articles

Finding Articles

Library Catalog

To find a full-text copy of an article in a particular academic journal, magazine, or newspaper, you can search for the periodical title in the library catalog to see our full print and electronic holdings.

You can search by keyword or article title in our combined search for books and articles.

Google Scholar (see below) can also be used to search for academic resources.

If the full-text of the article is not available, submit an Interlibrary Loan request.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Broad multidisciplinary, scholarly literature search with links to find individual results in the library's collections.

Key Subject Resources

African American Archives
1 million+ pages of historical primary source documents about the African American experience over several centuries
America: History and Life
Scholarly literature about all periods of American history. (ABC-CLIO)
Early American Imprints Series I (1639-1819)
Resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America
Early American imprints Series II (1801-1819)
Resource for information about every aspect of life in early 19th-century America
Humanities International Complete
Includes major journals in the humanities' studies of literature, history, philosophy, archaeology, classics, performing arts, and religion. The collection includes full text for more than 1,200 journals and citations to over 2.9 million article and book records, including peer-reviewed, scholarly, and popular perspectives. Coverage includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
JSTOR
Scholarly journal archive containing full text journals in a broad array of disciplines.
Nexis Uni
News and wire services; company, industry and market information; resources for legal and political research, including case law; medical news; government information
Political Science Complete
Provides full text for over 400 publications, and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 800 journals. Features more than 165 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 27,000 full text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
SocIndex with full text
Contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. Also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers.

More Subject Resources

Aspects of African American history and culture can be found in all subject disciplines. For a complete list of electronic indexes and databases available in Ramsey Library see our database list.

Find Full Text

Early American Imprints

Early American Imprints Series I (1639-1819)
Resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America

Early American imprints Series II (1801-1819)
Resource for information about every aspect of life in early 19th-century America

Off-Campus Access

1. Follow links to library resources from our homepage
2. Enter your first and last name and the number on your RockyCard

Learn more about off-campus access here.