Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville

Art: Reference

RESOURCES, including Books, Journals, Reference Materials, Film and Images related to the study of studio arts, art history, and crafts

Using Reference Resources

A reference source is a compendium of authoritative information, compiled for ease of use.

Reference materials include

  • subject or general encyclopedias, dictionaries and thesauri 
  • statistics
  • biographical compilations
  • maps
Reference materials may be found on our main floor to the left of the Research Services Desk as well as online.

Key Reference Titles

SUBJECT ENCYCLOPEDIAS

AAM guide to provenance research / Nancy H. Yeide,  Konstantin Akinsha, Amy L. Walsh. Washington, DC: American Association of Museums, c2001. -Basic to provenance research, particularly WWII. Includes appendices on collecting, dealers, auction sales, collectors and lists of art libraries, photographic archives and other repositories.

ARTCYCLOPEDIA 
Also serves as an online fine arts search engine

African-American Art Chicago: Encyclopedia Britannica Ed. Corp., 1973.

Architecture in the United States

Art in China

Britannica Encyclopedia of American Art.,

Encyclopedia of World Art, New York: McGraw-Hill, 1959-87. 15 vols. [Ref R 703 E56]

Murray, Peter. The Penguin Dictionary of Art and Artists. 1997

New Encyclopedia Britannica See also the Britannica online. Particularly the e-Blast menu which allows searching by topic.

Oxford Companion to Twentieth Century Art  (Oxford Series title.

  Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts - 1300-1990's 

  Causey, Andrew. Sculpture Since 1945, New York: Oxford University Press, 1998. 

DICTIONARIES

Dictionary of Art Historians - Duke University site containing lists of historians, museum staff, and art scholars.

Key Resources