Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville

Art: Writing & Citing

RESOURCES, including Books, Journals, Reference Materials, Film and Images related to the study of studio arts, art history, and crafts

Zotero

Use Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

WIKIs

COLLABORATIVE WRITING

"Artists in Trouble"

Writing for Art

Chicago Manual of Style - University of Chicago Press
Call Number - Ref Desk Z253 .C57

 http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/tools_citationguide.html Online resource for information on style.


*See notes on creating an Annotated Bibliography by Cynthia Canejo, below.

TOOLS FOR BIBLIOGRAPHIES

WorldCat  Build a bibliography

Son of Citation Machine

ZOTERO -The Next Generation Research Tool

Roman Numeral Conversion and Self-Test

Google_Docs -  Create documents, spreadsheets and presentations online

Annotated Bibliographies

[Ramsey Library Guidelines adapted for Art History Dept. by Dr. Cynthia Canejo] 

Annotated Bibliography:  Select an area or topic related to art or architecture to investigate.  The final Annotated Bibliography should contain at least 10 good scholarly texts/citations This assignment is geared toward gaining skills with databases. 

NOTE:
-- No quotes.
-- Clarify whether the text is scholarly or if (and how) it will be useful to your research paper.
-- A text containing many articles (collection/compilation) should be cited as one source.
 

Bibliographic Citation Entry: 

          State the background level of the scholar who has written the text [authority and/or qualifications of the author]

          Summary of approach and/or paraphrase of thesis (what is the scope and main purpose of the work?)

       Statement of key idea or issue and the argument (discuss any biases that you detect)

       Statement of how you intend to use it and why you chose it (address the intended audience and level of reading difficulty)   

An Annotation is Generally Four or More Sentences:   

Sample annotation:

        Doe, Jane. "Technology, Culture, and Dread: An Analysis of the Terminator Films." Technology and Culture: A Reader. Ed. Moe Greene. New York: Columbia UP, 2001. 44-62.

Jane Doe is a scholar specializing in film criticism who teaches at NYU.  This article uses Terminator 1 and Terminator 2 to examine our cultural anxiety about technology and its effect on our daily lives. Greene makes several connections between the films and other areas of human activity, in which technology has seemed to take on a power of its own, or even become more powerful that its creators. The author argues that we have created a "narrative of dread" about our relations to all technology, but especially to computers and electronic media. I chose this article because it is well written and supports its thesis with lots of cited research, and plan to use this idea of the narrative of dread to examine the imagery in William Gibson’s novel Neuromancer.


  *PLAGIARISM Note

Plagiarism is a serious offense.  If you are uncertain about how to correctly cite sources, check out the writing manuals available at the library Reference Desk or in the Writing Center.  You must cite in your bibliography ANY source from which you have used information (even if you did not quote directly from the text).  Any words taken directly from a text should be in quotation marks and cited in a footnote (this includes individual words and phrases if they contain information specific to the author).

If you are caught plagiarizing, at minimum, you will be reported and your grade will be significantly lowered (max = failing course and/or being expelled from the university).